Cooking with wood - [WE96] Weekend

@germanandradeg.png

The weekend is here and I came running to participate in @galenkp's Weekend Engagement (WE96).

For me, this has become exciting because I enjoy writing and also consuming the publications that are presented.

If you want to know what it's all about, click here and you'll know how to participate.

Of the five topics that have been proposed I chose a combination of two:

🍴 Outside food 🍴 Burning food

My brother JC is a fan of cooking outdoors, he has a house in the outskirts of Caracas, in a sector called Hoyo de la Puerta. The backyard of his house is huge and we regularly gather there with the family to prepare the occasional feast on the weekends.

@germanandradeg (1).png

It is not strange that one day we take a huge pot and put in it pieces of chicken, meat, lots of vegetables, and plenty of water; this has been lit in advance with good firewood to get an intense fire. In Venezuela, many of us call it a beef and chicken cruzado or simply a boiled stew. Some people just call it soup.

@germanandradeg (2).png

Other times we buy a good piece of meat, which is soft and with some fat. Here we call it solomo de cuerito. It is spectacular for grilling or roasting as it would be called in other countries. We accompany this good meat with spicy and garlic-flavored chorizos. All that goes to the firewood in a grill that we improvised.

No matter what was to be done, we accompany it with bread, arepas, yucca, salads, guasacaca, and anything else the family would like.

@germanandradeg (3).png

@germanandradeg (4).png

Of course, we add sodas or soft drinks for the younger ones, cold beers or a good scotch for the older ones and sangria for the girls in industrial quantities.

All in order to spend a Saturday with the family and enjoy ourselves to the fullest. That day all the drivers stayed at JC's house because it is forbidden to drive under the influence of alcoholic beverages.

untitled.gif
PEAKD Gif

Due to the pandemic and the restrictions on leaving the house, the custom was suspended, so I will tell you what happened the last time we met.

These meetings have always been a total success, everything has been going great until one weekend I had the idea of inviting a girl that I was crazy in love with.

Everyone in the family was married with children and I was the divorced one.
When I met this girl, I knew she was the one and I wanted to invite her to share with us so I wouldn't be without a partner.
She gladly accepted and we decided to leave early because I am very active in the kitchen, I love to cook and if it is outdoors, all the better.

We arrived at my brother's house and almost everyone was already there. It was a joy as always, the noise of the kids, the wives and girlfriends talking at full volume, and us men preparing the firewood and what we had to do.

This time it would be boiled and grilled, both; in other words, there was work to be done, but with gusto.

Regularly the girls were in charge of salads, vegetables, chopping bread and if there was an arepa, they were also in charge of that.

That Saturday I had to make arepas and because the grill was not very big and there was no room for anything else, the arepas were going to be made in the kitchen of the house along with the salads; that was my girlfriend's turn. The meat and the boiled meat would be made in the patio where a bright sun and a refreshing breeze were present.

Amidst laughter and chatter, it was time to set up the table.

Everything looked exquisite, everyone had to stand out with what they had to do.

@germanandradeg (5).png

The meat was beautiful, the stew beautiful, the salad immense until the arepas that Thai had made showed up. I'll just leave the pictures.

@germanandradeg (6).png

After several months have passed since that weekend, arepas are still a topic of conversation.
Thai's deformed and burnt arepas. Even the dogs didn't want to eat them.

May the universe grant you all that you long for and may the blessings of health, love, and prosperity cover your homes.

Note: All images are my sole property unless otherwise noted

free Delivery.gif

Follow me on Twitter

Follow me on Instagram

I use CANVA to edit the images you see in my publications.

https://www.deepl.com/translator

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center