The delay on life

delay.png

At times it is folly to hasten at other times, to delay. The wise do everything in its proper time.

- Ovid -



It was time to fly home and was ready, I'd been away too long and needed to get back. I missed my own bed, the comfort and familiarity of my own home and, above all else, Cleo. She commands my attention and I willingly give it accepting her affection in return, that and the uncompromising love she gives me. Even now, I anticipate her cuddles, the way she buries her face in my neck and snuggles, and the soft sounds of her contentment. Yes, I was looking forward to flying home and to having some selfish moments life, living life for myself rather than the company I work for I mean, reconnecting with life, and with Cleo.

The last day of my business trip was very focused as I wanted to get as much done as possible, gain as much value from my business trip as I could. I'd ignored the beeps coming through on my personal phone all day but, for some unknown reason, picked up the phone on the last occasion it beeped and...

Flight rescheduled

This happened three hours prior to the flight. I opened the airline's app on my phone and they'd already updated the flight. It was moved from 17:15 and was now 09:45 the following day.

I wasn't best pleased but there was nothing I could do.

I spoke to the General Manager of my company who immediately set someone the task of finding me a new flight. They were successful, but the flight was with a different airline and was just over $1,000 (AUD) instead of the $430 of the existing flight. They would also lose the existing flight making the cost of my return home $1,430 for a Brisbane to Adelaide flight. That's a lot.

The alternative was to accept the revised departure and stay in Brisbane for another night. The company would have sent me home on the expensive flight but I said I'd stay the night to save them the expense. They booked me a room in the hotel I'd checked out of only that morning and only had to wear that cost and my food for the extra night which was far cheaper than the other flight.

In flight

I'm writing this in the air after just enjoying some lovely airline food for lunch, a gourmet chicken and salad wrap, coffee and Pepsi Max. Yes folks, I like airline food, and have actually never had a bad one; that's saying something considering the amount of times I've flown. I read my book a little and am now focused on landing and getting home.

I received no explanation for why my flight was rescheduled but I assume they sold my seat to someone else for more money. Maybe it was cancelled altogether, but I think the former as it's happened to other people I know. It's a by-product of the pandemic which has left airline's scrambling to make up lost revenue. I was lucky, my company pay for everything: Flights, food and accommodation. I'm wonder about those who had to find the additional money for hotel rooms from their own pocket though. What if they were on a tight budget? It doesn't seem at all fair.

I guess it's just another way life has changed.

I've had flights changed before, cancelled for bad weather or maintenance issues, and on each occasion the airline paid for a taxi to a hotel and back to the airport plus a night of accommodation, and a meal allowance. Now...nothing. Assholes.

I'll be landing soon, and snot long after that will be cuddling with Cleo, whispering, I missed you so much, in her ear and feeling good about being home. I was annoyed last night, but the thought of that little cat in my arms, her face nuzzling mine in only an hour or so, causes that annoyance to fade away. She has that power over me. Sure, the airline put a little delay on my life when through bumping me to a flight today rather than last night, I lost half the day travelling, but life doesn't go to plan all the time right?


I'll have a couple days of weekend left to engage with life as I see fit, I lost today to travel due to the airline rescheduling but sometimes life doesn't go quite to plan and Monday is a public holiday so there's something to look forward to. What are you folks up to this weekend? Do you have plans or are you going to freestyle your way through and see what develops? Feel free to comment below and let me know what's up.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised so be humble and kind

Any image in this post is my own

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now