A weekend shared with my 2050 self [Week 118]

Sunday before dawn, like so many other days, I've been awake for a while and I get up carefully so as not to wake my wife. I'm the only one in the family who enjoys getting up early, so when the others don't have to, I generally enjoy reading alone, until my wife discovers my absence in bed and starts calling me. Today I play deaf to see if she gets up and makes coffee, but no, she has fallen asleep again and when she finally turns on the laptop I almost scream with shock.

I was unable to capture the image on the screen, unrecognizable despite the resemblance. I just thought "The Fly" remember the movie? This is how I saw myself reflected on the dark screen, a simile of the portrait of Dorian Grey. And when he spoke to me my jaw opened as if to swallow all the flies and mosquitoes of the season.
I'll be ugly but not that ugly.

When the character in question spoke to me, I understood that it could only be myself or another version of me. There are things that no one else knows about him and that it is better that they continue like this, so I will not tell you, what I am going to tell you is what he told me once he pulled up his chair and leaned his elbows on the desk I got ready to listen to what he had to tell me.

Felix! This corner so comfortable that you have prepared yourself and where you sit down to write your ideas, calculate the formulas of your beloved soaps and sometimes watch a movie with your inseparable Crucita, you have to be willing to leave it behind, you have to leave your comfort zone and make many changes in your life.
To begin with, your weekends cannot continue to elapse within the monotony in which you live, I know that you do not care what day of the week it is and that you are able to work all Saturday and continue on Sunday until late afternoon, to rest on Monday and Tuesday, and start again on Wednesday.
No matter how much you try to do without customs, you cannot escape from your habits, perhaps you do not remember your childhood, when on the eve of exams you went to play or go to sleep early, but before dawn you were reading the book for the exam.

Okay. It's time to create some new habits. Fortunately, you already know how to do it, just like when you quit smoking.

Starting tomorrow Monday. No internet at this early hour. You are going to shower and dress to go for a walk before the heat discourages you from doing so, you are going to walk at least 3 kilometers before returning to breakfast and you are going to eat only half.
The 6 kilos that you have lost in a year are not enough for you to reach this age and I do not want to die before my time because of your comfortable laziness. Let's walk now.
Your heart is overworked and if you were to have a pacemaker put in like the internist suggested, you're not going to get very far.
Do you want to meet and enjoy your grandchildren? You have to take care of yourself, your children are not in a hurry, in that they are similar to you and they are winning over you, you will have to wait a little longer.

When I finally came out of my astonishment, faced with a singular reprimand and I dared to ask if despite the wrinkled skin I was in good health. The screen went black again and behind me Crucita asked me, who are you talking to so early?

I drank my coffee more quietly than usual and although I didn't say anything while Sunday passed with the family, even my mother-in-law is present and warned that I'm not normal, that something's wrong with me, but no one said more. Sometimes I suffer inexplicable mood swings and they know better not to insist.

I'm taking it all in and getting ready for tomorrow.

Just like 10 years ago when I quit smoking. Hard days, but the benefit is worth the effort.

I wish you all a happy weekend while I get ready to enjoy this Saturday afternoon watching a movie with my wife and my mother-in-law, who is a fan of John Wick, and tomorrow, Sunday, I will respond to your interesting comments.
Thanks in advance for your reading and comments.

Special regards to @germandradeg, who approached this initiative and to @galenkp who was kind enough to guide me in complying with the rules that I hope I have correctly complied with on this occasion.

Note: Written in Spanish and translated with Google.
All photos taken by me with a redmi A9 phone, including the self-portrait.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center