Posting contest: THE DATE - 120 Months Gap Before my First Date With My Childhood Girlfriend

Greetings friends on the #Weekend community, it's very exciting to partake in this posting contest with titled #TheDate organized by @galenkp. This posting contest reminds me of how long it took me and my childhood girlfriend to go out on a date that made a difference in my entire life. I know your ear is itching to ear my story, stay tuned as we move gradually to my romantic sphere.

image.pngSource

It takes two to tangle they said and it takes love to bring to strangers together.

Everyone has this childhood experience about that person you love and how that led to several experiences both the good, the bad and the ugly. Mine was actually an excellent experience because, it broke the anxiety about going out on a date.

The Genesis
My childhood days became more beautiful and exciting when I first met Ebi (that's the name of my childhood girlfriend) in Port Harcourt City, Nigeria. Ebi was a member of my church and an exceptional chorister who sang from another realm. She's beautiful and very attractive to all who attended our church. What a talented girl.

I gradually enrolled in the church choir in order to get closer to Ebi and it didn't take long we became casual friends. One of the unique things that happened within that period was that we attended the same High school, creating a better opportunities for us to become lovers. We became use to ourselves to the extent I couldn't resist to let her know that I loved her, so I decided to wait for the right time to do the needful. But there was still an obstacle in front, how do I create that romantic atmosphere to relate my intentions to her, so I planned a date.

I never knew that planning a date was going to bring a serious challenge.

The Line In-between
Since there was no cell phones in our possession that period, I decided to use the letter writing means to communicate her of my intention to take her on a date.

Suddenly, a week after I sent her the letter a friend of ours me that her aunt (which she's staying with) intercepted the letter and restricted her from going out of the house alone. This became a huge challenge for us. Mere looking at us you'll notice that we loved each other so dearly.

I became so depressed after the information was passed to me and the next information that came to me was that she has left town to stay with her mom in the neighboring town of Owerri in Imo state Nigeria. Remember that there was no means of communication and I didn't know her mom's address to trace her.

120 Months Before our First Date
It took us about 10 years to reunite with each other. How did it happen? One Saturday morning I was jogging alone the streets of Port Harcourt and I suddenly heard my name... Salvy... Salvy and I stopped to check who the caller was and I realized that it was my long list lover whom I've been seeking for. We immediately exchanged contact and agreed to meet that same evening at cool joint in Port Harcourt.

The Date
It was April 2010 and it was a bit cloudy. I had been anticipating the clock to move faster than normal for me to do what I intended to do 10 years ago. Since she told me that she's still single, I had hopes that it'll a breakthrough.

image.pngSource

Obviously, the evening came and I left the house 30 minutes before our meeting time and truly speaking I was so nervous within me and I had sweat all over my face, so I wiped my face more often than not.

Suddenly, I saw a lady walking towards my direction dressed in a red gown that radiated her beauty. I felt honored to see her around. Once she came close to me, I stood up and offered her a seat after a little period of exchanging pleasantries.

She sat down and we started talking and reminding ourselves about our past experiences and got to know ourselves better.

We immediately realized that we're hungry, so she ordered for fried rice and chicken, while I took plantain porridge with fish.

The greatest part of my first date experience was that we became great lovers untill 5 year ago when she traveled to the United States and couldn't wait any longer. We're both married to different persons today.

It's truly a moment that I cannot forget in a hurry. It broke the fear of anxiety.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center