[WE116] The Weekend Stranger: The Day I was Lost and Homeless.

Filipino are hospitable, and I can't argue with that. There is a story in my life that I also do not believe happened to me. That occurred in college life year 2018. Where suddenly gave me a smile on my lips when I read the given suggestion concept this weekend under the Weekend Experience Community. Instead of the topic where I must feed a homeless guy or whoever, I was homeless then. One house welcomed me in a short position, fed me, and gave me a blanket. This is my story, and it was never be forgotten forever.

Might sometimes be I shall be the one that will do to others.

First up, happy weekends, everyone. As I stayed focused this weekend to write or make my blog, I found myself in the position of wonders. It took me hours to look at my empty working sheet. I can't focus for a weekend as summer feels the heat. Thou I prefer to work outdoors to write over bringing myself inside. Fresh air happened to comfort, at least. Weekdays were hectic because of the typhoon in our area but fine now for no one harmed or gets to something, yet the nearby places have some simple issues.

The blessing of nature is giving her comfort to me, blowing the fresh air to freshen my mind.


Let's go back to the story.


During my college time, I was a literal picture of 'young, wild, and free' it was my first time away from home, and one thing I looked at was fun. I have friends and a lot of adventures that happened. I do experiment with things, discover, and make memories.

I was under peer pressure then, but we didn't take our studies for granted. We knew our limits on the topic were all about exams and projects. But within the free time and weekends and no class comes another version of the adventure. We played and had fun looking for something new.

Credit to zero take from Unsplash.com

That happened in 2018, and the classes were cut-off for the report of the super typhoon would affect the area, as I lived in a dormitory, and it was free time. One that we get in mind is another adventure. "It's just a typhoon," I heard one of my friends, which made me laugh, and a no-brainer, I agreed. Ride in a place for the promised we will get back as soon as possible, just the ride and let the wheels of the single motor decide where to give a try.

The weather was weak as I remembered, but thou just a moment, heavy air went to attack. I was worried then and quarreled with my friend for subjecting me to a near-death situation. There is so much danger riding, for there might be flying debris that will catch up in the way, some deadly flying object like galvanized steel or anything.

Credit to Tengyart from Unsplash.com

I told him no, I could not join him going home. He wanted to go home as soon as possible, but I was overreacting then. I cannot go in a way that will subject both of our lives to a deadly situation. He cannot leave me alone, too, so we have no choice but to ask people nearby to have some shelter. We shall be ready to go home after the heavy rain and wind stop.

We engulf the pride and shyness and go into an ordinary house closed as they have been prepared for the typhoon. I knocked on the door; takes just a second. A woman was opening the door slightly. She asked what had happened. We explained that we were stranded and afraid that the typhoon would make us impossible to go home. At that moment, she opened the door, and as we entered, an older man was smiling at us, holding his cup of coffee. He looked decent and friendly.

Credit to Julián Amé from Unsplash.com

They didn't even ask what our name was, they had seen our uniforms as a student in the university, and we were shocked one of their children was studying in yet different department from ours, that moment she told her parent that she would stay in her rented room, safer than going home. They offer a dry cloth and hot water, like a parent worried about their kid. We promised that just a couple of hours but sadly never happened. I was afraid that time for its going to be 5 PM, yet the storm was getting worst, but my cell battery was also drained. I am so scared that my parent is also worried about me not being ping or calling on my mobile.

As I decided to run for our lives, we said our goodbyes, yet the uncle won't agree. He said we had to stay for the night. I could feel my mate's discomfort as I know he has this problem sleeping in not place he has been before. But he just looked at me, letting me decide what the next move to make was. I agreed. We have to wait until the typhoon ends. I was also scared that we would be stranded in more hectic conditions if ever we insisted on going home.

Credit to Carl Kho from Unplash.com

The power supply was off as the deem of lights came out. We have nothing but candles made. No one slept that time, and we could hear the wind in their home and the creepy sound of the galvanized shelter because of the strong wind flow. The whole night I just looked at the roof. I can't resist imagining what if this roof flew out or was destroyed, for the creepy sound makes it more transparent and louder.

The uncle flashed his flashlight to us, and I pretended I did sleep, but how? I was homeless, and I wasn't in my home. I was with a stranger that whatever and time, I could be harmed or killed. That experience of mine was intense, worrying, and overthinking. And I wish you will never in that moment of mine.

What happens if we continue to run home? What happens if they won't welcome us on their adobe? If you were in my shoe that time, we couldn't argue, being silent yet worried.

The next day we prepared to get home. The last time, they fed us breakfast. They had a boiled banana fruit, and auntie said uncle went out and found a trolled by the typhoon. They also wanted us to take the rest, for they said we might get hungry heading into the dormitory. If we knew their daughter, who was also studying at the university, we could thank her and maybe treat her that time, but sadly just the name Rebecca they said.

I do admit that I was too wild back then. I knew that something might happen, but we still make things for adventure. That was the past, a memory for sure. If no one had helped us that day after the typhoon, no one would know if we still are alive at this time. There are moments when we reminisce about those events and adventures with my friends.

We just laughed, I hated him then, for I thought he might kill me, but now I realized I should thank him for giving me those memories of being young, wild, and accessible.

Indeed, I was homeless once in my life, and life outside the home with no one to take care of was hard. Somehow, I could feel the fear of homeless guys when a typhoon is coming when we aren't sure if there is someone who will help.

This is my entry for the WEEKEND EXPERIENCE and my version of "The weekend Stranger."

Want to meet my buddy? The cover was two of us, lol.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center