My First And Best Dinner Date // The Weekend Contest

Love is not a respecter of humans. It happens how it chooses to, where and with whom is ready to give it a try.

So I got a job offer with a firm after graduating from the university and was meant to relocate to Lagos because of my new job (my first actually). For a start, I chose to stay with lizzy (my cousin) who agreed to accommodate me for a few months before getting my own apartment.

I was able to settle in quite on time and got my own accommodation and there, I met a neighbor called Philips. Philips is a tall, dark, full-chest able man who loves flirting with girls . That alone made me dislike him even before getting to know him and I felt he wasn't friendly on the other hand. All we did as neighbors was just exchange pleasantries, he could barely see me because I'm choked up with my job which I was trying to give a good shot because it's actually my first. Him on the other hand, was busy with his and of course with his ladies.

img_0.12175995410163637.jpg
Pixabay

One weekend I heard a knock on my door and I rushed to it. And it was the almighty Philips on a short and singlet. It happened that he wanted me to help him make a list on how to go about making a good jollof rice because he wanted to surprise his mom. I managed to offer him the help and yes! we got talking from there (Not that bad, I said to myself). Days turned into weeks ,and weeks into months and I could barely hold a conversation with Lizzy without mentioning his name. Lizzy was so amazed at the recent development but I wasn't, maybe because I never believed I could actually fall for him.

It was my 27th birthday and Philips offered to take me out on a dinner date as my birthday gift, I reluctantly obliged, since it was his first request. I called my sister — Joy. Yes! I am turning 27 but my girliness has never really evolved but with the help of lizzy I had nothing to worry about.

Elegantly dressed in my flowing red gown with my makeup. Philips could barely recognise I was the one as his eyes moved all over me from my eyes to my nose, lips, and cheeks. He led me to a small table in a quiet restaurant. It was a late hour dinner, say around 10:30 pm.

He pulls out my chair and he sat across me. The only light is from a few well placed candles. Waiter approaches and pours this strange wine I have never seen before without saying a word and leaves the bottle. No menus, as has ordered for them in advance. I must say I had a memorable night discussing with him and yes he popped the big question — will you marry me? Yes yes that was all I could scream. Afterwards , we went home and the rest was a story!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency