Weekend-Engagement writing topics: WEEK 166 ~ Freedom As An Adult

𝔽𝕣𝕖𝕖𝕕𝕠𝕞
Explain what freedom means to you in 300+ words - you must use images that you photographed personally.

FUkUE5bzkAZT3HzV5tJDiU2ik81PCd4JCyhWnRcDN8XJsVFY3UNB8DCTQTLzegSCmEmecR5DtuQ6xTxCeDAeNcxNL6tBgnLUanyf1ckj9SG2ZFf95ouFTvdxb8RrLcHBEGBXCsw472SPxNRZu5P5JQJ1mcVKXunqG7Ee.jpeg

When I was younger, I usually thought that growing up was more fun than being a child and couldn't wait to become an adult, I wanted my freedom, wanted to be like those older people and do whatever I wished to do and how I wished to do them without being stopped or caned for passing my boundary as a child, I wanted to try out what adults were trying out, wanted to enjoy what it means to be an adult and enjoy the freedom that comes with it but as I grew older and every year, I added age to myself, I realized that growing up wasn't what I imagined, it wasn't what o saw, it wasn't all that fun.

There is a song that says,

Adulthood na scam
You better get am for your mind
You gast to hustle, make a living 24/7
Nobody go ask if you don chop
Nobody go send you free money
If you no get na you sabi
Adulthood na scam

Nobody said that being an adult which comes with freedom of course is a responsibility. So, I say freedom is being responsible for yourself and for your actions.

FUkUE5bzkAZT3HzV5tJDiU2ik81PCd4JCyhWnRcDN8XJsVFY3UNB8DCTQTLzegSCmEme2vum1i1Y3tKH7rSFYEnVV4xvnQkaCfXFyx9ppEguYP9pPJD2wQDfsWBdUgH13yM41zUSJRJTNgapKiWb8F95yXZbn1n3XBCJ.jpeg

That is the more reason when I see some teens who are in a haste to be an adult or addressed as one with the way they are behaving, I let them know that although being an adult comes with freedom, that freedom is a big price we pay

Freedom to me means, nobody is a custodian of life, nobody is going to push you around to do what is best for you, do whatever you wish to do, we are just going to be at your back to support you the best way we can. You make your life decision and take responsibility for whatever the outcome is, we are just going to be at your back to push you.

Perhaps if one at told me the stress, headache, and much responsibility that comes with adulthood, I would have stayed a child for a longer time because as much as I love the freedom that comes with being an adult, I would not mind getting a rest from being an adult 😂😂😂.

Adulthood Na Scam By Lade

I tell even my younger ones that the freedom they so desire comes with a lot of tasks and that includes being responsible for themselves and their actions, as much as I would love them to get to their stage where all I do is back them up, I do think it is better they should take their life and age, a step at a time because when they get to that stage of adulthood and their freedom is given to them, I hope they know how to handle their life properly and don't hate themselves or try to mishandle it.

At this stage, I know many of us fell into depression when we got to realize that the freedom we so desire comes with commitment, responsibility, and duty, to oneself, family, and community. I love being an adult, and I love my freedom, but the responsibility and commitment that comes with it is hectic and can even make one fall into depression.




This is my participation for the Weekend-Engagement writing topics: WEEK 166 by @galenkp

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center