5 Tips for Developing Meaningful Friendships | WE #161 [EN]


It was a joke,the post have nothing to do with it, well I'm not sure, keep reading and let me know at the end.


Let's get to the point. Recently, I published an article about one of my best friends, so to complement that post, I will be answering:

How do you go about finding new friends and creating lasting fiendships in the offline world?

This topic seems interesting to me. Currently in my life, I can count on the fingers of my hands how many friends I have (well, maybe I have some fingers left). Does this make me bad at making friends? Not at all.
Being born in Cuba hasn't made it any easier either. In Cuba, it's common to strike up conversations with anyone and become friends instantly. However, for me, it's not that simple. This has led to some misunderstandings and has made me even more selective about making friends. Unlike in other countries, new technologies don't have a significant impact on how people make new friends in Cuba (so I won't be discussing that topic in this article). Let's continue...

A bad photo but a good memorie from 2017


When I was younger, I was a very introspective person and spoke very little, making it difficult for me to make friends. However, somehow I managed to have a group of friends. Later on, I changed my behavior and expanded my social circle at a time when there was no Facebook or anything similar. Being well-known felt incredible, but then reality hit, and many things happened - some with meaning, some without - that caused my group of friends to shrink drastically. I believe that time is the most important factor. Some psychologists say that a friendship of 10 years will last forever. Is it really that simple? Anyway, I have never changed who I am, but I have learned that there are friends and there are acquaintances. Let me explain...

My friends and I at school


In my school, many people know me because of various projects I have undertaken (I wish it were different; I like to be more anonymous). However, I don't know all of them well, which means that I can't call them my friends; they are just acquaintances. It's complicated, and I don't think I've explained it well πŸ˜…, but this has saved me from future disappointments and gives me peace of mind.
In my defense, I must say that I genuinely enjoy conversing with nearly anyone (since I've joined Hive, I've noticed this tendency has only grown stronger). I actively listen to their perspectives, gain insight into other worlds and vastly different personalities from my own, and above all, consider a diverse range of opinions. All of these experiences help me to grow and develop as an individual.

Looking at it from another angle, it has allowed me to understand the needs of the group of people around me, which makes it easier to promote a product when the opportunity arises.

However, initiating a new friendship can be a significant challenge for me (like a turtle, I move slowly and if I sense something that I don't like or that might be harmful, I retreat into my shell). Building a genuine friendship requires trust, time, and, above all, shared experiences that will remain with me forever. In each of my most cherished memories, there is always a dear friend by my side; this is a constant in my life, and I believe my friends are even more valuable because of it. I know I'm a little different, but this is what works for me.
I am conscious of this phenomenon, and on occasion, I have made an effort to open up to people and expand my circle of friends. However, life has taught me that few people stick around for the long haul. Many of those whom I once called friends have left without explanation, and in other cases, competing priorities have taken precedence over our friendship. As a result, I have become more self-protective and prefer to remain acquaintances until the test of time can prove the strength of our friendship.


Yes, I find it easy to interact with people (Hive greatly facilitates this) and create a connection. It's not difficult if you listen more than you speak. However, forming friendships that last over time is a challenge for me. But there's a positive side to this - it has taught me to defend my friends at all costs, to prioritize their needs above my own comfort and time, and to consider my friends as family. And I am more than satisfied with that.

So... Many acquaintances but few friends.

But let me ask you: What do you think it takes to form a true friendship? What is your opinion on the matter? Do you have any tips for making new friends and strengthening existing friendships? Do you think social media has made it easier or harder to make and maintain friendships?I would be delighted to hear your thoughts.

See you next time πŸ‘‹

@galenkp. It's always an honor to participate in #weekend-engagement πŸ™



P.S: As I review my past articles, I realize that this marks my eighth consecutive weekend-engagement, which means I have been following the topics for two months straight. Looking back, I can see just how much my writing has improved during this time. I encourage you to participate as well, even if you can't always give your best. It's always interesting to see new faces in the group and hear fresh perspectives.

All the photos are from my personal archive



Banner Hive Cuba Witness

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center