WEEK 226: Sincerity, knowledge and empathy: A combination that makes me special.

Hi

A new weekend and a new time to stand in front of the monitor and participate in the weekend-engagement that @galenkp organises every week.

One of the questions that @galenkp asks us to participate in the #weekendengagement is the following.

What makes you special to others, endears you to them? Explain in your own words and give examples. Use your own photos.

I buy the instrument because it's you...

Those of you who know me through my post know that I give training in the use of scientific instrumentation in metal analysis laboratories.

DSC01070.JPG

For years, the company I work for has asked me to take care of the commercial side of certain equipment related to the equipment I train and the truth is that I am not bad at convincing customers to buy my instruments with technical arguments.

IMG_2253.JPG

This week, in one of my clients with the best relationship, I have had a serious problem because a small instrument that I sold them is giving them many problems of breakdowns. And to make matters worse, the technical service was not being quick enough to give them a solution.

In the middle of this chaos, I happen to be in the middle of a possible purchase of a different instrument, with a super-competitive offer and with the customer totally in favour of the purchase and even more so when this morning I said to myself the following

‘I buy the instrument from you rather than from your competitor because you sell it despite being angry with the company you represent’.

It was at that moment, when I asked him why he still trusted me despite the problem with the instrument, that he told me about the special qualities that I have in comparison to his experience with other sales agents.

Empathy

He told me that my availability to always help them in dealing with the company I represent and to help them with anything they need in the lab even outside working hours was something that no one else did or does for them.

Technical knowledge

They told me that they had never encountered someone with so much technical knowledge to solve complex analytical problems and that with a simple phone call he was able to open their eyes so that they could move forward with confidence.

Sincerity

The world of sales people with the pressures of achieving sales targets is becoming more and more like a jungle than a sale in a civilized country. They indicated to me that they appreciate how sincerely I have always recommended to them what I think is best.

Even the equipment that is giving them problems at the time, I told them that they could look at other market options, as all equipment for this type of analysis has inherent problems with the technique.

Despite my warnings, they insisted that they wanted the instrument from the company I represent and I could not refuse to not offer them the equipment. But now they appreciate that I had warned them at the time that it was not quite the best option, although not the worst either.

Conclusion

All in all, I got the order for about 50,000 euros, for being sincere, for having good technical knowledge and for getting involved in solving other people's problems.

Have a good weekend.

Cover and separators created with https://www.canva.com (free version).

Pictures taken with my iPhone and Sony Alpha 6000L.

This post is my entry to #weekend-engagement organized by galenkp.

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version).

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center