Bruce Springsteen


It's been a while since I joined the Weekend engagement topic but this time I wont miss out on sharing my best live concert and full filled life dream with you.


Bruce Springsteen and The E Street Band


I grew up in the former German Democratic Republic, behind the iron curtain. Access to music that wasn't system related was not easy but still the people managed to hear what the world of music had to offer past the borders. After the wall came down everything was available without reprisals.

My parents were into all the classics from the 60s to the 80s. As kids we listened to The Beatles, The Walker Brothers, The Bee Gees, Nancy Sinatra, you name them.

One moment stuck with me till this day.

I must have been around 10 or so when I saw a music video on MTV. What I saw and heard had a lasting impact on me.

It was this one. Turn up the volume!



I'm not sure if that was the beginning of my love affair with the U.S. but in my chest pounds an American heart. 😄

I wanted to be the "...heyyy baby..." ! From this day on I wished nothing more than to join a concert.

Fast forward a couple of years it happened that I met a guy. He hooked up with my friend and one day he awaited us with a surprise.



I mentioned once to Christian that seeing Bruce Springsteen live was an early childhood dream and lo and behold he invited us to the "The Rising" tour.

It was one of the nicest surprises and you can imagine how excited I was.

A dream come true!

Back in 2003 the latest album of The Boss dealt with the 9/11 tragedy. So the playlist was dominated by new songs but throughout the 3 hours that he played, my absolute highlight was performed as well.

The one song that started it all!



The concert was fantastic. We stood in the fifth row with a great view of the stage.

Bruce Springsteen and The E Street Band got by without a lot of spectacle. No light effects, no big fanfare, dancers or anything else. He walked on the stage and started 3 hours non stop performing.

This man fascinates me till this day and how much power and energy he brought to the stage was unbelievable. It was just as I had envisioned it, even though I wasn't the "hey baby".

But I made it into the newspaper lol.



This is the one and only concert I can truly say that I joined with all my heart.

Bruce Springsteen is such an exceptional artist and kind human. A man I respect for what he stands for. Ok, he does look damn good as well, guilty as charged, but it's not only that lol. It's his mind that I like.

I do wanna share another songs that I feel belongs here somehow. I could share everything from my all time favorite artist but that would kill it lol.

I hope you guys take the time to listen and enjoy the quieter tones of Bruce Springsteen as they go straight into the heart.

I'm grateful having had the chance to see him live for once and it was for sure the best live concert I ever joined.

This is for all of you!



All images and text are created by @bulldog-joy unless stated. Banner created with Canva. Support your favorite communities and love the Hive.



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now