Week #216/ I'll stick with Punctuality



I am from the old school, where rules and values were very present and under that premise, I was raised at home. My father was a man who was very attached to keeping his word and that implied being punctual as well. Since I was a child I was taught to be punctual and responsible with my activities, for me it was normal; but as I grew up I was interacting with many people and, of course, not all of them had the same interests and different ways of living, of being, among them the subject that attracted me here, punctuality.

At the beginning, in my childhood, everything was according to my schedule, from school, to homework, to play; there was a time for everything. After I became a teenager and started to interact with other kids I started to “clash” with some of them, especially when we had to meet for any activity and someone in the group was late, that frustrated me and it still does today, because I don't like having to wait, I discovered that in those days and even more if that waiting delayed me for some commitment in which I had to be punctual. Since I consider that this is one of the best letters of introduction that a person can have.



This issue of punctuality, sometimes has brought me bad times, because many people do not give importance to this, because they consider “it is not so bad” that is the excuse and even think I'm an exaggeration to bother me about it. My friends and those who know me know that if they don't want to bother me, they should arrive, if not earlier, at least at the scheduled time. In my opinion, being late for an engagement, meeting, appointment is a lack of respect for my time and my person, I am not very flexible, although of course I accept that sometimes situations can happen that prevent someone from arriving on time, an emergency, something unexpected, but if so, that's why there are telephones to notify, if possible of course.

On the other hand, just as there are people who are punctual, there are people who are unpunctual by nature. I have several friends that one of their most outstanding characteristics is to be unpunctual and not only said by me but by all our group of friends, since they know each other, so when we have gathered for any occasion or celebration, we all know that they are going to be late. So, what I personally do in these cases is that I do not commit myself to meet them before, and then go to the place, but I tell them; “see you there” and so I avoid a bad time, neither they are uncomfortable nor me, and everyone is happy, ha, ha, ha, ha.

It is said that you have to learn to accept people with their virtues and weaknesses, that's fine. But with this specific weakness, I put into action certain precautions, such as arriving at the place on time on my side to the meeting, event and always have a plan “b” if it is a work commitment or something that requires seriousness, sometimes I prefer to go find the person and make sure they are ready on time, if what is going to be done is of my interest so I do not have to wait too long or my plans are going to fall. Of course, this applies if the person is someone I trust, otherwise I try not to have anything serious with this kind of people, such as business, work meetings or something legal and so I avoid a lot of hassle.



This is my participation in Weekend-Engagement topics: WEEK 216. I loved the proposed topics, thanks @galenkp. I'll stick with the punctuality one, because it suits me perfectly. Greetings friends!





Banner @brujita18
The pictures belong to my personal gallery

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center