Time flies when you do what you love.

A Facebook Memory reminded me yesterday of an important fact: it's been a year since I started to work as a luthier. It made me laugh. Has it really been a year since that? I still can't believe it. But I've seen the days and weather change, flower drop and buds bloom. So it must be true. One year of working on something that challenges me everyday. A truly awesome experience!

WhatsApp Image 2021-12-19 at 7.00.44 PM.jpeg

I've been working on another instrument these past weeks. And the craft has absorbed me. That's why you don't see me posting daily. But it has a benefit. Task have become easier. All those things that worried me 5 instruments ago are now so common that I can go past it. It's like dancing to your own tune. Weird analogy for me. I can't dance even if my life depended on it (maybe I could show the forbidden moves).

All the work and thought about it has shown me my mistakes. They go into a journal and there's also a brainstorm of ways to fix any problem that arises during construction and design. There's more curiosity about how to make things better, prettier, cheaper or expensive, how to invest, what to prioritize. It is wonderful.

While I was thinking about this yesterday, I saw some pictures of the friends I still have at my previous job. They were at a End of the Year party because they are done with their schedule. I think if I would've seen that before, I would've felt bad. Perhaps even a bit jealous. I feel relieved. I don't need to deal with the students (and that's the easy part). I don't need to deal with pesky people trying to make themselves rich through education. Well, if you can call it that. At least I know people trying to do their best and learn a lot here. Kuddos to them. I hope they had a blast at that party and emptied the boss's pockets asking for expensive drinks. They deserve way more than that.

Going back to the craft, I was looking at this instrument so quite some time. I've been sending pictures of the whole process to her owner. She's finnicky, but her feedback has been like a mother watching all the stages of a baby and being giddy with each new stage. I didn't know such things could make me happy while making an instrument. It's a nice surprise.

The negative side of this joy is that little by little I'm running out of space. Something has to happen this year so I can move to an appropriate workspace and have all my things set. I know picking up my toys helps to build discipline, but I already have that in plenty. Besides, have stations for specific jobs would improve a lot my work and lessen my timetable. And even this coin has a good side, because thanks to all your support I've been able to get more tools. Thus, making easier a lot of my work. So, thanks to you as well. You're part of my success.

On a side note, I've been looking for ways to expand what I do. Let me explain. I've been sourcing for woods around the country and have found some beautiful things. It's like Master Luthier Jorge Ball said in an interview "We are the kings of woods in the tropic". And he's right! There's such a rich variety of colors, grains, hardness and tone. The possibilities of making a great instrument with local materials are endless.

I think I went little overboard here with my bits of joy. But I give myself those little moments from time to time.

I want to thank all those people who have put their trust in me for an instrument. It means the world! Also, all those who support me here and in mainstream social media accounts. Kuddos to my peers who have been open and willing to share what they know about the craft. There's no better way to learn than from someone who has already gone a mile ahead. Last but not least, I can't thanks enough my teacher for taking the time to guide me during my baby steps. Without him, I wouldn't be doing this. And the mere thought of that possibility makes me extremely wretched!

Thanks a lot! There's a lot more to come from me and I hope you sit tight and enjoy the ride!


Source

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center