The sound and pleasures they give.

Punch it! (1).png

When it comes to listening to things, I always go for things that are insightful, make me reflect on things, rethink episodes of my life, give me unlimited pleasure, speak about the world and more. This is why I don't just listen to music because it creates sounds. I listen to music because I feel it, hear it, and breathe it.

Any song that doesn't give me that vibe will never be found on my list or the list of people I am very close with. Music itself is life, it is meant to teach, inspire, show us the world, entertain, motivate and keep us hitting the play button anytime to do house chores, or relax and any song which doesn't give me that is bad and unacceptable to me.

20240627_114051.jpg

Good music to me is like the sky, clear and natural, peaceful and filled with so much warmth and also an obvious reminder that the sky can change. The sky can change in the sense that it can be cloudy this minute and be crystal clear the other minute, which is how human emotions work most times. One moment, we are struggling, and the other minute, we are smiling like we won a lottery.

Though I have to say that I am more of the blues/rhythm, Country music, Rap, Reggae, K-pop, Soul, Classical kinda person and I don't quite enjoy loud music but there are days I crave them, lol. I don't classify those as bad music, but I am very selective of the artist. Just like I stated earlier, I don't just enjoy music because of the sounds they make, but most times, the lyrics.

I enjoy music whose lyrics are clear and the message well received. Maybe that's why I always get stuck on 70's, 80's, 90s, and a few 20's songs as I grew up listening to them. They must have affected my music bud, in a good way. Haha.

Being from Nigeria, I enjoy the songs from old artists to new ones. Though I have to confess that there are some songs from new artists I have heard with a good sound but the lyrics/what they promote is a huge turn off for me which makes me end up not liking the song.

Good music to me is based on the lyrics. If it is something digestible, then it is for me, but if not, it is on my black list. Just like Plato has said;

Music is a moral law. It gives soul to the universe, wings to the mind, flight to the imagination, and charm and gaiety to life and to everything.

My songs are always my Prince Charming, which is why I carefully select them, and below are a few good songs among thousands I enjoy. As for the bad songs, I don't know any and wouldn't want to even have them on my search engine.

"We are here" by Alicia Keys

"Rain drop" 2face

"How to love" Lil Wayne

There are lots more I'd like to share, but... Hehe, let's stop here.


This is my response to @galenkp Weekend-Engagement Concept. You can join in as well, following the stated rules of the community.


Images used are mine, the first one was edited on Canv, and videos used were gotten from #YouTube.


Still yours truly,
Balikis.

Thanks for reading and listening.

Peace be unto those who crave it and more to those who chase it away.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments