Moment I wish I Could Erase Completely In My Memory

The two moments of my life that I would love to completely erase are as follows:

The first one was in the year 2012, before I got admission into university. I got admitted the following year 2013, into Olabisi Onabanjo University in Ago Iwoye. What happened to me before I received the admission is something I always wish I could erase from my memory. After writing my second JAMB, I was so happy to meet up with the cutoff. The cutoff score for some universities back then was 180 marks, i.e., a university can only give a student that passed from 180 upward the chance to write post-UTME.

I had a friend at Olabisi Onabanjo University who was giving me information about the school. A few weeks later, he called to tell me that the post-UTME form for Olabisi Onabanjo University was out and the price is ₦6,000. He also mentioned that the form would close in the next one week, and with transportation to Ago-Iwoye, I should try and found ₦10,000. At that time, my parents were financially tight, and I was also broke. However, I keep on looking for the money to purchase the post-UTME form because without writing it and passing it, no admission, you will have to rewrite your jamb again. At last, before the closing date, I was able to gather ₦12,000.

Only for me to get to Olabisi Onabanjo University and found out that the post-UTME form was now ₦10,000, and the form is as well closing that same day. After paying for the form and #2,000 for transport to Ago-Iwoye, I was left with nothing. The part that still upsets me is that when I called my friend, his phone was switched off. I had nobody to call for help. So I had to trek back home a distance of about 24.5 km from Ago-Iwoye to my town Ilisan. I was so exhausted and weak by the time I got home. Although I passed the post-UTME and got the admissions, I always feel bad whenever I remember trekking about 7 to 8 hours back home.

The second moment was during my NYSC days. I served in the Leru community, in Abia State. One day, I was traveling from my state (Ogun State) to Abia State. While traveling back, I first arrived at Umiahia, the capital of Abia State, around 6 p.m. From there I found a bus going to Leru community, but I didn't realize that the bus I entered was also occupied by armed robbers. I was robbed that day and left with nothing but an injury. It was a passerby that helped me with some money so I could continue my journey to Leru community. I hate remembering that moment because I always feel scared whenever I think about it.

These is my response to weekend experience week 222. if you could choose two moments of your life to completely erase what would they be and why?

Thank for your time on my blog.

All the image used are mine

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now