What's Free in Freedom?

20230814_WE.png

Pride 2023. One of the moments when I felt very free.

After lurking for the longest time, here's my first attempt at taking on a Weekend Engagement prompt. Let me tell you that it took the whole Sunday for me to decide which topic to take! Had a hard time stopping myself from talking about all of them.


So... Freedom?


It's a right. It's a privilege. It's a lot of things. I've yet to figure out what it truly means but allow me to share what I know and what I hold on to, so far.

Freedom is the quiet of the night. All is still and you're left to your own devices. My freedom revolves around being self-sufficient and being alone. It is to be left with no choice but to make decisions for oneself. It is living up to what I've always wanted to be.

Is my concept of freedom too good to be true? Perhaps. Is it something achievable? I'm unsure but it's something I'm working for.

This current thinking stemmed from learning how to blend in with my environment during my school years... Or at least that's what I tried to do. It involved lots of bending to fit into shoes of different shapes and sizes.

Be X because if you do Y, what would the rest think of you?

Now that I'm much older, I want to break out of that cage I built for myself.


Break free!
(Could be Ariana Grande or a High School Musical reference. I'll leave it up to you to think about. ;) )


We all want to break free from something. We groan and toil continuously, thinking that all these hardships will lead to the end of the tunnel. It's human nature! (And it's how our institutions shaped us.)

What do you work for? Financial independence? Daily survival?

What do you fight for? LGBTQ+ rights? Environmental issues?

Suddenly, all your dreams for a better life and a better world are melting upon the realization that living is a constant struggle. Your dreamy La Vie en Rose gets replaced with Survivor as you wrestle the daily hustle and bustle.

Hehehe.


I'm sorry to tickle your brain or send you to another bout of mental gymnastics but I have to cut myself short before I spiral into questioning my existence! Hope you don't mind me leaving this cliffhanger.

But hey, you do have the freedom to choose if you want this to linger in your head. ;)

Thank you for stopping by.


Banner created on Canva. All images are my own.


Arc (arcgspy)

Arc likes to play games on and off the blockchain when she's not lurking around Hive/Wax.
Personal and creative dumps are all over arcgspy.
Blockchain gaming content, and beyond, will be at arcmilla.

Check her out around the interwebz:
Twitch (ENG)▶️ Facebook (FIL) ▶️ Twitter 🐦

Avatar created via picrew.me

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center