RE: RE: It's Worse Than it Looks
You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: It's Worse Than it Looks

RE: It's Worse Than it Looks

@dandays... This post about Pura's pancreatic problem and subsequent response by dreemsteem (in particular) has brought back a flood of memories to me regarding a few family members lost over the years from pancreatic cancer.

Of course Pura's chronic condition does NOT place her within that "cancer" criteria, since the issue was raised and according to the concern you've displayed within that potentiality (probably due to research on both your part) I feel free enough to touch upon it, along with my best wishes and prayers for both of you.

I'll try not to turn this into too long a response. If you want more input, let me know and I'll try my best.

My father died from pancreatic cancer. He probably suffered from chronic pancreatitis for many years before getting sick enough to see a doctor- hence, no pre-cancerous treatment, which may have made a difference in outcome. He always said it was his "ulcers acting up" over the years, which unknowing to him, had healed years before (according to endoscopic examination)

My dad was diagnosed with cancer in January, late 1970's; he was gone by mid-August of the same year. I carried him up three flights of stairs to his apartment in my arms; a vivid memory returning to me...

Two years later, my Father-in-law was taken by the same condition... he had never seen a doctor about why his gut always burned so much either; except till it had become a cancer and the pain along with physical weakness set in. He lasted about as long as my father, after diagnosis, chemo and radiation treatments.

YET... the last one I need to mention to you, was my ex-wife's second husband... He always introduced me to people at gatherings, "This is her husband number one..."

It was different with him, after his diagnosis of pancreatic cancer... He lived for MANY years, even after being told to "Get your affairs in order..." He had that similar operation Dreemsteem mentioned about her friend in Russia.

The operation was considered "experimental" at the time (a few years ago or so) and there was only one American doctor who would perform it - in Chicago, I think...? No insurance company would cover such a procedure either; so it was a cash only remittance deal.

That partial removal of his pancreas gave him many more years to 'bet on the ponies' like he liked to do... and many more years for me to enjoy his Political analysis/tirades of which I usually agreed with :>)

In summary, If you and Pura ever want additional information, leads etc. regarding that doctor or procedure, my ex and I still remain in contact with each other. I'm sure she would be willing to share whatever information she has, of which may be helpful; just in case...

Let me know. Meanwhile... keep showing and giving all the love Pura needs right now, and don't pout when she elbows you in the ribs to not take pictures of fat people eating pizza in Emergency Rooms at the hospital...!!!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center