Heartwarming Weekends: A Special Bond with Grandma over Mahjong

Hey there, everyone! I'm thrilled to be joining this wonderful community and diving into new writing territories. Big shoutout to @tarazkp for introducing me and helping me expand my horizons beyond the gaming community that I'm in. I'm eager to connect with all you amazing people and make this place a hub of fun and creativity in Hive! 😁

So, here I am, contemplating my first blog post for the WEEKEND EXPERIENCES community. After much thought, I've decided to share something personal: my weekly WEEKEND routine. It's a small window into my life, but I hope you find it relatable and maybe even inspiring 😊


SOURCE

Picture this: it's the WEEKEND, and the morning sun is casting a warm glow through the windows. That's my cue to head over to my grandmother's house bright and early on a Sunday morning. As soon as I arrive, the tantalizing aroma of breakfast fills the air. My amazing grandma has already whipped up a delicious meal for us. We sit down together, savoring every bite, before diving into our weekly mahjong session. And let me tell you, my grandmother is a mahjong maestro! 😝


SOURCE

Now, for those who aren't familiar with mahjong, it's a captivating game that originated in China and has gained popularity worldwide. It's a beautiful blend of skill, strategy, and luck, where players use tiles to form various combinations. If you're curious about the game, check out this awesome beginner's guide, which explains it in more detail. Trust me, it's worth a try! ✌️


SOURCE

Our tradition of WEEKEND mahjong sessions started during the pandemic when home visits were the norm in Singapore. My grandmother, who just turned 90 this year, has some mobility challenges after a fall in 2018. But that doesn't stop her from enjoying life to the fullest! Mahjong is one of the few activities she can still take part in, and it brings her immense joy to share this experience with me 😆

For my grandmother, mahjong is more than just a game; it's a way to stay mentally active and engaged. Despite the physical limitations that come with aging, her mind remains razor-sharp. Playing mahjong exercises her brain and keeps her cognitive abilities in top shape. Moreover, it's an opportunity for her to socialize with family and friends, which is crucial for her emotional well-being especially when she is stuck at home all day 😣


SOURCE

Being her grandson, I consider myself incredibly fortunate to spend this precious time with her. Our mahjong sessions forge a unique bond between us that transcends other activities. The conversations we have during these games have taught me invaluable life lessons, and the memories we create are truly priceless 🤓

In a nutshell, playing mahjong with my grandmother on the WEEKENDS is an absolute delight. It's not just about the game itself; it's about building a deeper connection with someone I hold dear. The moments we share are treasures I cherish, and I hope we can continue this tradition for years to come 🙏

I encourage all of you to seize the opportunity to spend quality time with your loved ones as well. These moments of bonding are truly irreplaceable 👩‍👦

Thank you for taking the time to read my post, and I look forward to sharing more with you in the near future! 😁

Each image in this post has been captured from the internet, and I have provided the source attribution for every image
P.S. When I initially began writing in the Hive Community, I wasn't aware of using the Communities tag, resulting in a raw post with image errors.
I apologize for reposting this article, as it perfectly fits the theme of the WEEKEND EXPERIENCE. Please bear with me as I share it once again.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center