1000 DOLLAR WEEKEND CONTEST BY @galenkp

Wow, I just saw this and I am glad to hear and write about a 1000 dollar weekend.

If I get a 1000 dollars this weekend, I will be so excited.

I am a teacher and starting from today, my school is on mid term break. So are my children. So what are we waiting for to start a journey? I am heading to Agbor, my hometown in Delta state state.

My youngest brother's wife just gave birth. Having 1000dollar (600,000 naira) this weekend affords us the opportunity to visit my little nephew, whom I call grandson.

First, out of the money, my two kids and I will pay for a flight to Benin city. That takes like N100,000 for the three of us.

Polish_20220224_074358724.jpg

Source

With N200,000, I will storm the baby shops in Benin city to buy baby things for my little one. I know a good baby shop in Benin city, it is called Dorcas Mother Care Shop ( I hope I can remember that name well). I would buy a baby pusher, a baby hanger, different toys, clothes and a musical baby sitter which my grandson would sit on when he grows older and watch his mother cook or work round the house.

baby-5533947__340.jpg
Source

Using a Bolt driver ( just like Uber), my girls and I will stock the vehicle with the baby things and head for my hometown, which is just one hour from Benin city. That takes just N20,000 from the remaining N300,000.

Another N100,000 is set outside for our flight back to base on Sunday. I have N180,000 remaining which will be spent there at my hometown. Hostels in my place are not so expensive, I could get one for N30,000 for two days.

Upon arriving, I can see myself dancing with Mum in praise to God for the new baby. I see myself hugging my younger brother for a job well done, hahaha. It's not easy to be a father. I would hug my beautiful wife too and of course, I will so adore my grandson.

pexels-photo-7282927.jpeg
Source

I have planned a name for my grandson. I will name him Ugochukwu. Translating its full meaning to English language, it means 'the exalted position God has placed me, my enemies can't take it away".

Yes, my family has suffered greatly. My Mum suffered much at a time especially when Daddy died, and this my younger brother suffered as well. After graduating from the University, he found out that his course hadn't been accredited, and so there was no NYSC, no discharge certificate, no BSC certificate to look for a job. NYSC means national youth service Corp, a compulsory service to the nation for one year after graduation. But he missed it.

His fiancee, probably waiting for him to graduate and let them get married, upon finding that he might start all over again left him. It was devastating for him. We thought he would not been able to handle it. But despite all these, he didn't lose his sanity.

Instead, he picked up the pieces of his life and learnt a trade. Now he is a big boy, with a registered company, run by him and his God- given, adorable wife. More so, another bundle of joy-- the baby, has been added. Of course, what God has planned for him, nothing can change that. Hence I chose Ugochukwu for the baby. I will call him Ugom.

baby-hand-dad-64242.jpeg
Source

I still have 150k to spend. I will make delicious soup for the mother of the baby. We have special soups for nursing mothers. I will make one of them and also make a different meal for others ( my mum, brother, my kids and I). In the end, I would gift my baby N5000, his mother N20,000k, my mother N25,000 and my brother N50,000. This will support him in ensuring that the wife eats well, to be able to breastfeed my grandson well. 😂

By this time, I may be left with just N20,000. Mehn, it's going to be an amazing weekend. I will use the remaining N20,000 to buy local spices for soup. Some of the spices are very expensive where I live so I would buy efuru oruru(cotton seed) Orioma, ujuju, Ogbonor and Odoro. I don't know what they are called in English but they are my local delicacies and I enjoy eating them.

Let me go pack a few things already. This is past just a writing contest. I believe I have the 1000 dollars already in my account and this journey must be made. Let me go check and head to book a flight. Hahaha 😂 Apart from my girls, who is coming with me? 😆

My entry into @galenkp contest. Find the link here and join.

Thanks for the visit.
Yours, @adoore-eu

First image edited with polish app

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center