Hummer EV , A Gentle Giant With A Powerful Punch But Is It affordable? Let's Find Out.

Green Travel Blog Banner.gif

Hello, #planetauto#

In this post, I will be detailing one of my dream cars (it is actually an SUV), why this car is one of my dream cars, and how much it takes to get one up and running here on the Indian roads.

Electric Vehicle

Copy of Green Travel Blog Banner (2).png

I have always imagined how an EV would feel in hand, Me being a techie admire EVs because they always seem to have the best tech a car could have, and being environmentally friendly is another bonus. Before I get into details of my dream car I have to congratulate Tesla for helping push EVs as the future of road transport.

GMC HUMMER EV

Copy of Green Travel Blog Banner.png

Source

The car that I'm in love with is the Hummer EV from GMC. Who doesn't love a Hummer right? The majestic look is just awesome in my opinion. The latest announced EV model looks futuristic and at the same time, we could also see the signature Hummer design. Take a look at the attached image and admire this beauty by yourself.

Hummer EV Features

Copy of Green Travel Blog Banner (3).png

Oh boy, where do I begin, this thing is literally packed with features and some of them almost made me drop my jaws. Now as I don't want to make this post too long, I'll only be pointing out some of the most striking features to me.

1. CrabWalk (Diagonal Driving)

Copy of Green Travel Blog Banner (4).png

Yes, you heard me right. This vehicle can perform a diagonal drive if you are in a tight space or if you simply want to show off. Well, diagonal Driving is not new to the automobile industry but is often seen in cars and smaller vehicles but if you ask me the Hummer EV is going to benefit a lot with this considering its huge size and how often it is going to end in a tight situation.

2. Extract Mode

Copy of Green Travel Blog Banner (5).png

Extract mode lifts the vehicle a good 6" off the ground. This is also a feature that I think will add value to the vehicle because of its off-road use case. We have all wished that our vehicle's clearance was a bit more for those special situations. Check the animated video showing how it works.

3.Four-Wheel Steering

Copy of Green Travel Blog Banner (6).png

Four-wheel steering is also not new but having that feature is also quite good and I think will be very useful for a vehicle this big. Four-wheel steering helps the vehicle turn in a much shorter radius allowing an easy turn in a smaller road.

Before I conclude the feature section I have to say that the Hummer EV has all the advanced AI features like auto driving, cruise modes, and all those stuff and it even provides a very luxurious and spacious interior. To get an idea of all the features takes a look at the official introduction video from GMC attached below.

Official Promotion Video

How Much Does It Cost To Get One?

Copy of Green Travel Blog Banner (7).png

Well, I am from the struggling nation of INDIA, and getting a luxury car often stays as just a dream for the mass majority. Still, let's analyze how many Indian rupees we would need to get the vehicle on road. The Hummer EV is priced from $88,898 to 131,898 in the US, which would mean that it costs from 65.2 lakh to 96.8 lakh. There is one catch if you want to buy one from INDIA though, you have to buy one from outside India and then import it because it is not available in the Indian market. This is where the total cost becomes really absurd. Let's now calculate that cost

Actual Cost

Copy of Green Travel Blog Banner (8).png

Let's now get to know some of the norms set up by the Indian Govt for importing cars to India. As this is an EV the import duty is not as high as the petrol and diesel variant, but don't miss understand me when I say 'not as high' because even this is a huge amount of import fees.

ParticularsPercentage
Completely Built Units (CBUs) of commercial electric vehicles40%
Semi Knocked Down (SKD) forms of electric passenger vehicles, three-wheelers30%
Semi Knocked Down (SKD) forms of electric vehicles - Bus, Trucks, and two-wheelers25%
Completely Knocked Down (CKD) forms of electric vehicles - Passenger vehicles, Bus, and Trucks, three-wheelers, two-wheelers15%

As you see the import free stands at 40% for Completely Built Units (CBUs) of commercial electric vehicles that means the base variant will now cost $124,584 our 92 lakhs here in India. For the source of my findings click here.

Conclusion and Attribution

Copy of Green Travel Blog Banner (9).png

That's about my dream car and the amount of money I would need to get one. I thank everyone for reading about my dream car I hope you guys understood some of the constraints Indians face when importing a vehicle also I am expressing my gratitude to @planetauto and @ocd for organizing the ongoing boost contest. Wishing all of the participants a stroke of very good luck.

Source of Price can be found here
Source of vehicle info can be verified here

Hope you guys learned something new ☮️

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now