My work dilemma

I’m still yet to properly start my new job yet I feel like I’m already having issues with my other existing contract jobs. I had the original intention to be completely done with them so I can focus my entire time and energy on my new job but it appears my clients had other plans.

image source

I’ve been stuck in a huge dilemma over the past 2 days over a new contract I’ve been offered. A client for who I recently completed a pitch deck over 2 weeks ago contacted me to make some more corrections and additions and I told him I won’t be available.

He then went ahead to contact a friend who introduced us and complained about my refusal and my friend told me to charge him some more and get the job done. So, I called this client and agreed to do the job on the condition that he’d pay me, which he agreed to do with some extra tasks.

He says he’d want me to work on a new flow as well as be his stand-by product designer until his product is completely built and on the market. Normally this isn’t a task that I’d have a problem with. It’s something I’ve been looking forward to but I have my new job and this is a very demanding and somewhat annoying client.

My friend who introduced us suggested I give him a high bill and make the most I can from it, however, my partner who got me the new job suggests I decline the offer and focus more on my new job.

I strongly feel like I’m sitting on the fence at this point because a part of me wants more money but another part of me doesn’t want the stress. Especially since my new job could pay me a lot more than this client would be willing to pay. However, I’m a little greedy and I want it all.

Chances are, I’ll be charging this client $200 for all he’s asking and spend almost 3 months going back and forth with his tasks. It’s an experience I want, however, I’m not so sure I want to go through the stress at this point.

I don’t know what to do at this point but I’m pretty sure I’ll make a decision soon enough. I think it’s great how I’ve gone from having no hope of a job to rejecting offers. I also feel it’s too early to get cocky with jobs because they’re pretty rare too.

Nonetheless, I can’t wait to no longer be as broke as I currently am anymore. I need to replace all the crypto I’ve spent over the last 3 months.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center