A new beginning to our financial freedom journey

Welcome one and all to the first post in my Hive journey (well, technically, it is the 2nd, but I literally had no idea what I was doing when I posted the first). Calling me a newb to this world would be an insult to all the newcomers who have a clue what this is all about. Me, I'm a 40-ish married guy living in Wisconsin, USA with my beautiful wife and daughter. I'm truly blessed to have them in my life, and I want to take care of them in the best way that I know how. That happens to be what this blog will be primarily focused on, and that is creating enough passive income to have complete financial freedom. I grew up thinking that being a cog in someone else's machine was all that I could possibly do, since I didn't have the risk-taking spirit of an entrepreneur, or rich parent's to bankroll several failures.

Now, I'm no idiot, and I like to think that I'm decently well educated. One of these days I will get around to penning a more detailed bio, but for now, let's just say that you can call me doctor if you want (but don't, because it isn't the MD kind).

I anticipate that I will be sharing my thoughts and experiences with all of the different projects that I'm interested in currently, including my regular job, dabbling in the stock market in all kinds of different ways, and most recently, crypto. Expect to get a bunch of laughs at my expense when I recount to silly mistakes I make, the bad plays I attempt, and the newb traps that I fall into. Hopefully, you can take something away from my ramblings, and are better off having read them.

One quick example: I was watching some YouTuber talking about some crypto project that you can stake your coins to make easy passive income. Cool idea. So while I'm researching it, I stumble on the Cardano Summit. Sure, everything that is being talked about is way over my head, but it sounds great. So while I'm watching, I do several Google searches, and one of the videos seems to offer an amazing deal, where all I have to do is transfer my ADA into the creator's wallet, and he will match it and send it back, as a way of showing his dedication to the network or something like that. Let's just say that I was LUCKY that I couldn't figure out how to actually transfer the tokens in a timely manner, because it was a scam. If my exchange would have allowed me to transfer the tokens immediately, I would be out $4000. Instead, when I came back to the link after the 72 hour holding period, the website was gone. So I took that lesson almost learned the expensive way, and instead followed the original plan and staked the ADA with Daedelus (I think that is how it is spelled). Again, I don't really know what I'm doing, but I decided that all of the money that I am risking is money that I can afford to lose with out it impacting the immediate future of my family.

Take care, and I hope you enjoy the ride.
#introduceyourself

P.S. I had to save this as a draft, because I didn't have the RC to publish it. Guess I have more learning to do :)
This guide helped me a TON: Complete beginner's guide to Hive (with Doodles) pt 1

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center