NFT Madness | NBA Topshot - Ben Mauro - Beeple

March 2021 is slowly coming to an end, but what a couple of months it has been for the unstoppable NFT world!

The Giant | NBA Topshot

The whole NFT space has literally blown up over the last two months and we have #nbatopshot to thank for that. This NFT 'game' is by far the biggest in terms of daily USD traded, but even more importantly: also in terms of active accounts, their discord channel now has over 278k people in it and I think that these days the size of a Discord channel is a more than a decent indicator for how successful a project is and what the future can bring.

Screenshot 20210322 at 20.21.22.png

NBA Topshot is so successful that they had to develop a drop system for new packs, where everyone gets a random place assigned in a queue until the packs are sold out. There was a drop a couple of days ago and I got spot 94239 in the queue and unfortunately I ended up not getting a pack. That did mean that they sold 40k packs in about an hour or so, at 229 USD.

That means 229USD times 40000 = 9.16 million USD

By the way, as we speak I am trying get a new cool cats pack.

My position is 241567, there are 67500 packs available, needless to say I won't be getting pack this time...

There are over 300k users in the waiting line.

Screenshot 20210322 at 20.06.49.png

The demand for this is just insane right?

leo divider.png

The Surprise | Ben Mauro's Evolution

Screenshot 20210322 at 20.24.53.png

Ben Mauro's packs will be able to be opened this Wednesday and sold on the VIV3 market. The retail value was 2 million USD and sold out in minutes. The mint number will be very important and randomly assigned. I have 3 common packs and really hope to get a 888 mint number.

People are estimating the market value to be 10 to 100x as much, meaning 20-200 million USD.

leo divider.png

The Biggest | Beeple

A collage by American artist Beeple has become the most expensive digital image ever, with the blockchain-verified artwork fetching over $69 million at auction.

The artwork, titled Everydays: The First 5000 Days, was listed by Christie's on February 25 for only $100, becoming the first purely digital artwork backed by a non-fungible token (NFT) to be put under the hammer by a major auction house.

Screenshot 20210321 at 14.42.05.png

leo divider.png

The Future

It is hard to say where this all will lead to and every day I discover more and more NFT projects, of which the majority will probably fail long term, but I also regularly come across projects that innovate and have a big potential to thrive. I have a lot to write about, expect more posts about some gems that I recently discovered.

Let me know in the comments which NFT projects you follow or are most excited about.

Also Curious?

I go where curiosity leads me - these days that's crypto in general and more specific NFT's - Gaming - Defi

Follow me to get a personal perspective on new and upcoming ideas and projects in the crypto world.

Projects I am currently super excited about:

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center