Gitcoin: Governance Token GTC Airdrop

image.png

source

I guess GITCOIN launched its own governance token today and I got this message πŸ‘‡
image.png

https://gitcoin.co/blog/introducing-gtc-gitcoins-governance-token/

I am not exactly sure what I did but...

"Because you have participated in Grants, Hackathons, Bounties, KERNEL, or helped fund open source projects, you have been allocated GTC. Help decentralize Gitcoin by claiming your tokens!"

I guess I did something in the past that makes me eligible to claim this token?
You should check this out too... just in case you have something you can claim?

Go here and login and connect your wallet.
https://gitcoin.co/quadraticlands/
untitled.png

There are 3 "missions" you have to complete before you claim GTC token.

  1. Watch a short video and answer 3 questions. If you actually watch the video, they are all pretty easy.
    1.png

  2. This was kind of confusing to me. You have to enable or disable GTC delegation... which you haven't received yet... it is kind of strange but just "enable" delegation and pick who you like to delegate token to. That is all.
    2.png

  3. You are actually going to delegate? and receive GTC token.
    3.png

This last part was confusing to me too... since I wasn't sure if I was receiving the token or delegating the token... AND the transaction failed the first time for me.

AND YES, GAS!!!

You have to pay ETH gas for to claim so make sure to check the ETH gas fee is cheap (or reasonable)
https://www.gasnow.org/
Because you could end up paying more gas fee than the token value.
I paid about $30 for claim transaction... 😫
4.png

After click "Claim", my transaction got stuck forever like this and the page never got updated so I wasn't sure what was going on... ugh ETH transaction 😞
image.png

But when I went to Etherscan to check my transaction, it went thought actually so I looked at my wallet, but GTC wasn't there... 😨
I guess this is a brand new token, my Metamask couldn't display it.
If that is the case, you need to add token manually.
You will need this contract address of GTC
0xde30da39c46104798bb5aa3fe8b9e0e1f348163f

and go to Metamask and "Add Token" -> "Custom Token"
image.png

Then paste the token contract address in there and save it, so that the airdrop GTC will show up in your wallet.
image.png

Another way to check your token is that go to Zapper and connect your wallet.
Zapper will show the GTC token automatically like this πŸ‘‡
image.png

It was kind of a lot of work, too much gas fee, but at least I got some tokens so it was worth it?

image.png

source

More about the GTC governance token here

https://gitcoin.co/blog/introducing-gtc-gitcoins-governance-token/

And how to claim video



SWAPSPACE Fast Crypto Exchange πŸ‘‡



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center