Unspooling Threads: Early Days

I doubt there are too many of you who haven't yet heard about the newest development here in the #Hive ecosystem. We once cryptically referred to it as "Project Blank", and we waited with patient anticipation. It still has a few names-- including that original mystery moniker...

But we have a simpler, more memorable term to toss around now:

THREADS!

Think Twitter on Hive... microblogging, engagement, polls et cetera.

Threads is the Twitter of Hive- Blockchain Social.png

The more official name for this phase of the bigger project is actually OPEN ALPHA. You can click on that link to get to #Threads, but it seems like this is the future home of the @LeoFinance team's "Everything App" concept.

You can learn a bit more about it by reading THE OFFICIAL LEOFINANCE POST... and, as he is the creator and top dog at #LeoFinance, you really should check out @khaleelkazi's recent commentary RIGHT HERE. Both of these will give you a better idea of what we're dealing with, and where this train is headed.

Microblogging on Hive- Threads DBuzz Liketu.jpg
IMAGE C/O DANIEL ABADIA ON UNSPLASH.

All Aboard!

Obviously, "Open Alpha" refers to the continuous development happening as we watch, and also to the earlier "Closed Alpha" stage that happened behind the curtain.

Keep that in mind when you're getting acquainted, and remember to read those posts above if you still have questions. I know it certainly addressed a few questions I myself had after checking it all out and threading a few needles.

Threads: A Bit Threadbare For Now

See what I did there? (Clever bee. 🙃)

Anyway, I was originally intending to write a post that points out all the little things I've noticed on the Threads interface which are either broken or missing. I even made a list on a little, yellow Post-It note.

I meant business, yo! 😛

New Hive Interface- LeoFinance Threads.png

And this is part of the Beta and Alpha process, in theory, so we should all be pointing out the various things we notice... or features that we don't see and would like to. So here's the list I was working on:


1. We are unable to follow people on the platform.
2. The "Curated" page shows a 404 error.
3. The "More" button is not working at all.
4. No links in notifications. Not actionable.
5. There is no tab for comments and replies.


So maybe that helps and maybe it doesn't... but it's worth noting. I'm sure the team is working on at least one of those things as I write this, so I won't lose any sleep over it.

Have you noticed something else that I've missed? Leave a comment below... or, better yet, write your own post about #ProjectBlank and the new Threads interface! The more, the merrier.

I only have two more questions which may be a bit trickier to answer, and I've seen other Hivians talking about similar things. First: what are the best use cases for a platform like Threads? I saw someone say that we shouldn't just be leaving links to our Hive posts, but instead creating its own unique short-form content. I think a decent mix of both would be okay (and I honestly plan to link to this post in a thread when I'm finished) but I would love to hear ideas.

And my final question is probably more contentious...

Steel Cage Match: Threads vs. DBuzz!

Do we need a Threads when we have a #DBuzz? That's my question.

Awkward, I know... but I really am curious if it does something drastically different? Maybe I'm missing something, but I keep seeing these alternative interfaces pop up and try an existing concept in a slightly different way.

Repetition on the Hive Blockchain- Hive Engine Threads DBuzz.jpg
IMAGE C/O JORGEN HALAND ON UNSPLASH.

It could be that the LeoFinance team just has bigger and better plans, and the resources to pull it all off in a way that makes more sense. I'm not knocking them or the Threads concept... but I kind of like the familiar DBuzz/Twitter feel, and I'm wondering if they have fallen short in ways that are apparent to the community.

Do you think all the overlapping in apps and interfaces is a net loss for adoption and engagement... or do you see all the options and competition as a good thing?

HivePosh Is Hedging Their Bets!

That might be the smartest way to play, all things considered.

Since we're talking about #microblogging and Twitter, I'd be remiss to not mention the #Posh project. The @poshtoken initiative was conceived by @acidyo to reward the promotion of Hive on Twitter and any effort to pinpoint related opportunities.

An absolutely brilliant idea! I've been a delegator for some time now, and I do my best to share my content here and boost the Hive image to the Web2 world.

Now they too are on the Threads train with @poshthreads! The same basic concept applies-- rewards for microblogging-- but on Hive-based microblogging platforms. So it's not only on THREADS where you'll earn the new #GOSH token, but on DBUZZ and LIKETU (images) as well!

Threads Unspooled? Uncovered? Understood?

It's not for me to say whether or not I was able to add or subtract anything from the conversation... but hopefully I offered a unique perspective (and a few good questions). It's an exciting world we're building here, and I can't wait to see it all come together!

Please do chime in if you feel compelled... let me know in the comments if you notice anything wrong, if you have answers to my questions, or if you have a different take entirely.


The irony of a post this long about microblogging is not lost on me, and I appreciate you taking the time to read the whole thing! You're the best. I missed my goal of two posts in a week by about six hours (which is totally fine, and accountability is key). So I'm repeating the same goal, damn it. Wish me luck! Peace out for now, micro and macro-homies. ✌️
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center