Week34 - 5 SPY Sept 29 Open --> Close History - Trade Details!

Week34 - 5 SPY Sept 29 Open --> Close History - Trade Details!

  • Open 5 SPY on July 28 for $1.08 in premium
  • Rolled several times for premium
  • Closed on Aug 21 for a $0.60 premium.
  • Open 5 SPY on Aug 21 for a $1.06 premium.

image.png

Open 5 SPY on July 28 for $1.08 in premium

When I opened this position, the market was giving me $1.08! The markets were going up every week for about 8 or 9 weeks. Look at the chart below.

image.png

Because I have a negative view of the markets, I use a higher DELTA on the CALL SIDE of the Iron Condor and a lower DELTA on the PUT Side. The chart shows that the markets have moved down since topping out.

Rolled several times for premium.

On the surface, it looks like I only made the difference between the open and closing premium:

  • Open got a credit of $1.08!
  • Closed for a debit of $0.60!
  • Suggesting a profit of $0.48 per contract over the last 4 weeks.

The true return is a bit higher because I rolled a few times and added some risk into the trade (for more premium). See the GREEN boxes in the TRADE History.

Closed on Aug 21 for a $0.60 premium.

Today I closed my position. That is in the RED box with the DEBIT. However, currently, my brokerage shows only 4 contracts, but I know I traded "5". The reason is the "4" are mapped to the OCT 20 trade and not the SEPT 29 trade. I manually checked my brokerage and saw that the order for "5" was traded today.

Open 5 SPY Nov 17 on Aug 21 for a $1.06 premium.

Today I opened a new position using the profits from the trade I closed a few minutes ago. I will repeat this until the end of the year and hope to continue my profitable trades for the next 4 months!!

image.png

What is the plan for the rest of the year?

I got BURNED 6 weeks ago when I suffered 3 weeks of OPTION trading loss. I had multiple positions of SPY Iron Condors, and the market moved in ONE Direction (UP)! I lost money and plenty of it in the 3 weeks. I was up 21K in trading profits and lost over 8K in three weeks.

The recovery has been slower because after being BURNED, I generally trade safe (or using TIGHTER rules). Making $200 or $300 a week was a way to regain my confidence.

image.png

Today we are in week 34, and I want to close my winning trades and focus on my original plan for 2023.

image.png

That market can jump 10%, or it can drop back down QUICKLY. I need to be prepared for the demands since it can go either way. As a trading using Iron Condor, I don't care which way it moves as long as I make MONEY in both CASES. I failed to do that in JULY 2023.

How are you doing recently? Are you having a good or bad year so far?
Let me know in the comments!

Have a profitable day,
Solving Chaos

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center