New Purchase - 1853 Arrow and Rays Quarter -


Collection (2) (5).jpg

I recently met up with my coin collecting buddy for lunch again and I was able to pick up the piece that I picked out the last time and had him set aside. While I only added one piece it's always great to get together with him, have lunch, and catch up on life, work, and recent coin additions. Let's take a look at what I picked up since it does fall into my favorites category

Collection Highlights -

6VvuHGsoU2QCK6yq1XKF2z9F8sayRpwConx4qLB6jE9hzGT9Tv7Ty4L49JPMX8izzZCZLGYKt6kP2ErCVE4wdZg97xWnZ9YmqPdyHeMFZHoFpjHTo42W4SNEL4D6q3.gif

I tend to have of the older coins. I specifically like bust, seated, and barbers the most. I tend to not like the more recent designs like Franklin and Kennedy have so this one checks most of my boxes. Unfortunately my collection is exceptionally light in these areas as what I like also happens to be the most expensive. Why I don't like new issued clad coins from the men to at the lowest possible premium I don't know, but apparently I have simple tastes, I like expensive stuff.

I picked up the 1953-25 arrow and raise. This is not my first and probably not my last as I tend to be a visual buyer as I've said before and when I find a coin that looks good I tend to pick it up. This particular strike being silver getting a nice patina with this particular design always seems to have a good pop and really looks good.

  • Mint: Philadelphia
  • Mintage: 15,210,020
  • Silver Content: 90%
  • Actual Silver Weight ASW: .18oz
  • Diameter: 24.3mm

Stats from NGC Coin.

As you can tell they made plenty of these so it shouldn't be very difficult to find a really nice quality one, and I have a much better conditioned one in my dansco type book. I'll have to pull that out and take a picture of it next time around, and I once again struggle to take a photo of a coin that's already in a coin holder as it is difficult to get any contrast surrounded by all that white.

Either way I added for $35 and feel like that is a pretty good price for the current market.

Obverse

image.png

The front of this coin has the classic seated liberty design. Once again the money makes great reference to the foundation of this country as we celebrate the liberty and the shield on the front of our coinage. While the higher grade strikes will have a lot more detail you can make out the lettering of Liberty as well as a few of the lines on the shield.

Taking a look at the pcgs.com photo grade I would guess this to be about a BG 10 grade on the front.

Reverse

image.png
The reverse is my favorite part of the coin design. I really like the eagle and the rays, the rays really add some great I appeal when you get the patina like this particular one has.

This one is a little bit harder to photograde for me as many of the comparables have a banner and not raise so I am left with just the feathers and the shield on the eagle. Grading the reverse I would give this coin a grade of around a f12 to possibly an f-15 but I don't think I'd get that lucky.

Either way this happens to be one of my favorite quarter strikes that had a very short run of the arrows and rays and that's why I tend to pick them up. I know there were a lot made but I don't think it ever hurts to have multiples of one of your favorite coins.


Either way, I had a great lunch, identified a big purchase for lunch next month, and added a little something to my collection.

If you haven't noticed, go to my post yesterday and enter a random comment to be entered to win 5 hsbi shares if you so wish.

image.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center