Cashing out some Stables to Buy a House.....

I agreed a sale on a house recently so I've decided it's time to cash out some stable coins to buy it.

The house itself is a bit of a wreck (it needs a new roof for example) but for now I'm just interested in securing the property as it is (the ground floor is actually FINE thanks to concrete floors upstairs!).

This was always the plan - to cash out some stables for a house, but I've just brought my plan forwards by a few months just because I was in the mood for buying something NOW.

I can't see property prices in Penamacor where I'm buying going down, these are the cheapest houses in Western Europe still and its a nice area, so there's DEMAND!

Stable coins I'm cashing in - order of priority...

First off I'm draining anything in Polycub (sorry!) but the yield there is already quite low - nothing to make me keep it in there long term.

Second I'll drain the small amount I've got in 4 BELT on CubDefi - again quite a low yield.

Third I think i might drain the relatively small amount I've got on Cronos - I'm not that committed to that chain.

And finally I'll drain some of my funds on Terra - a 15% yield yes, but I'm happy to take out half of that.

What I'd like NOT to touch....

I've decided to cash out none of my HBDs - or the funds in the pHBD-USDC pool - at least not if I can help it.

I've got around $1000 on AVAX for a small return, I'd like to leave that in there in anticipation of AVAX-CUB launching - probably I'll swap that for some AVAX and trade back some BNB for stables to get them on Smart Chain.

And I'm using some FIAT.

I've got around 30% of the cost in FIAT so I'll use that for the purchase AND I might even take out a small credit card loan for 3% - but I'll see how my funds look at the end of next week, maybe just $500 worth - it makes sense to help me leave a little more of my stables at a higher yield, but I just don't like the idea of doing this.

It's a bit of a hassle moving the funds around....

You know how it is - unpool, swap, cross chain transfer, for me KYC exchange (no tax in Portugal so no problema!) and then bank - but when it comes to that last phase I'm always nervous about triggering some kind of halt on my funds with the bank, I know they don't like crypto so I only move small amounts at once, under $1000 at a time.

THANKFULLY the house is dirt cheap, and I can renovate it gradually over the next year meaning I can stick to this ritual and keep at least some of my stables earning for me!]

But a house I think is a great VEST, especially as I'm buying it outright!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center