TRYING TO RUN A SPKNETWORK NODE

image.png

I spent the latter half of today trying to set up my spknetwork node. Since I don't want to sell my larynx token or hodl it for no apparent reason, I decided it would be nice to run a node, which would allow me to stake them. Also, @disregardfiat said anyone could run one, so I gave it a shot.

I started by going through the tutorial on 3speak. It is about 45mins long and quite technical for someone with little tech background. I had to follow through step by step, so as not to get overwhelmed. I figured out some things by myself because I have some programming knowledge (very little I must confess). For someone without any idea of programming, it would be quite difficult to make sense of the tutorial at some point– even if I got stuck.

SETTING UP

IMG_20220323_230510.jpg

For today I was able to set up my server courtesy Privex. It cost me about 5.3 hives. I also got a domain man because at some point I was experiencing DNS problems. I don't know if that was needed. It cost me around $6 to get my server setup and my domain name. So it is quite inexpensive and I will urge other people to give it a shot.

IMG_20220323_230410.jpg

Everything was going fine until the 25th minute of the tutorial. Some things were not apparent to me. I have asked for help on the Spknetwork discord sever and I am waiting for feedback. I still plan on going over the video, probably I missed something.

What do you plan to do with your larynx tokens?

The last time I checked, larynx was trading around $0.013. Currently, there are more sellers than buyers in the market. I guess it's not the airdrop people were expecting in terms of price. I do think it would be worth more in the future but rather than hodling I decided it would be nice to use it for something.

I have never ran a node before now, so I am excited about the prospect of running one. Plus, I love the way my brain fires up when I am doing techy stuff. Maybe this is the motivation I need to start coding again. I do know if I have a future as a programmer but I don't mind doing this for fun and learning how this technology works.

Technology is an integral part of our lives. Although many people are fine not knowing how technology enables us to interact with the world and ourselves, I am curious about these things to a certain degree. I believe the more you know, the better your appreciation of technology and those who work behind the scenes to make things happen.

Anyways, I am going back on my computer to see if I can figure out how to get my node running. Hopefully, I get a response soon from the devs. If not, then anyone who is currently running a spk node and knows what they are doing should please help me out. I will be active on discord this morning. Cheers!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center