Brokers and Market Makers are Not Your Friends

DALL·E 20230104 12.22.18  stock broker taking your money.png

Most of the time I scroll on reddit and wonder why I subject myself to it. But sometimes there are some gems. There's that variable reinforcement I guess.

Just saw this on r/SuperStonk (which is about GME stock manipulation):

image.png

And my immediate internal response is, "well... yeah." I don't know why they are surprised that the corrupt system is corrupt. Stock brokers have literally gone on TV and said they are going to side with the institutional buddies instead of provide an honest market for customers.

It was the same thing when people were saying they were going to squeeze SLV with redemptions. The prospectus for SLV says that the administrator doesn't have to redeem your claims if it doesn't want to.

The people running these markets are not your friends. They are out to make money off you.

Bitcoin was invented as an attempt to have a trustless monetary system. I'd rate it around 6/10 so far on achieving that, which is way higher than every other attempt in history.

Of course the people turn around and use cexes then get surprised when they are rugged.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now