On the Road to Success don’t aim for Perfection, aim for Progress

When you take a look at many successful people nowadays, we looking from the outside often see them as people who are perfect and flawless in everything they do.

For that reason we like to assume they never were met with any resistance nor do they make mistakes on their road to triumph.

Getting inspired by success stories is such a lovely thing, but the thing about stories is that although they sound perfect, in reality,they are not.

In reality what we need to succeed is to be able to pursue progress even when we're not inspired to keep up.

When it comes to writing here on Hive, I’ve seen people who have been able to write every single day for weeks, months and even years.

Take Taskmaster for example, I don’t think this man has ever had an off day here on Hive. And that doesn’t mean he’s always perfect in everything he does(no offence Task). My point is that he’s always showing up consistently, and that has helped build something that I think I am just getting to have a glimpse of with my three-week streak.

So it appears I now have 3 Hivebuzz weekly badge

That’s progress. Not perfection.

That I have written more than one post every single day doesn’t mean that there are no days that I don’t feel like showing up to write and engage. Some days that I am motivated to show up, but most times I am not. Few times I feel like my articles aren’t that good enough to my taste and I sense there’s still something missing. This is a feeling I get every so often.

Regardless, I still make sure that I do the task at hand which is to sit my ass down to write to the best of my ability than to complain about not getting inspired all the time.

Somtimes I don't even have time to get inspired

Tbh, I’ve never been busy as I am now compared to the past where I find it hard to get a buzzy bee badge for a week. , so it's a surprise to me sometimes that I still find it time even if it’s just an hour to write my first draft, and another 30 minutes to edit before publishing.

I think sometimes doing it for yourself and your own progress is something that will help relief the perfection syndrome

But that’s if you don’t have unrealistic expectations about which type of progress you seek

Rewards or To keep writing amidst zero rewards

For instance, here on Hive, many people are focused on rewards and whenever their articles are not being curated they go on to feel like it’s not worth their time.

Just because some people put all their efforts into what they write, but ends up being neglected doesn't mean we are not progressing. This is why we need to shift our focus to something simple rather than complicated expectation like making rewards in terms of progress.

This is the case with some people here on Hive because I’ve been able to hear some complaints too on and off-chain about why some are not showing up to engage or write daily on Hive. However, when the market starts having a turnover, you see them coming back then start acting like they care.

Progress is underrated while perfection is hyped

I was scrolling through the inleo discord the other day to check what’s going on in the community discord and also maybe catch up on some updates that I might’ve missed on chain. While scrolling through, I saw a conversation about a user here on Hive who thinks that inleo is full of shit due to how he was being rewarded when he subscribed for premium.

If we are being honest with ourselves, when it comes to money matters, we humans are primarily driven by our emotions, based on our expectations. So when the expectation isn’t the way we want it, we react and act like things should always go our way.

Perfection is something everyone says we all should strive for, but we neglect progress, which is the result of every minute and every day changes which, when done consistently, have a huge effect in the long term.

Inleo Progress

If you knew the inleo community in the past, before Premium, you would understand that from that time to now, a lot has changed. And I believe things will keep changing because the mantra I believe someone like Khal stands with is to always seek progress.

Maybe inleo would be great someday or not. I bet Khal and the community members are all not 100% sure about that but what we can hold onto isn’t for the community to be perfect right now, but rather that it should keep progressing by getting feedback from the community members to keep initiating further adjustments where needed so it suits the taste of the community.

Life is not perfect even with how evolved we are, but I think we are making progress, and that’s what makes learning and growth a good pursuit which is what got us to the era of civilization and automation of today. And we are still not perfect, but we've progressed as a generation.

What are you aiming for progress or perfection?

image created using canva

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center