My 5th Birthday on Hive

MY.jpg

My 5th Birthday on Hive

January, oh what a month and none has such vivid memories as does the January of 2018 where I had been scouring the internet for the latest Crypto trend after getting absolutely rekt by Ripple. I was amongst those new wave naïve investors that thought I could retire from Crypto within 6 months after a shocking $10,000 gamble on a shitcoin.

Argh, there have been many, many more bad investments all amounting to dust, but as the saying goes in order for someone to win, someone must lose and unfortunately for me I have been on the losing end of that for quite some time.

Will I ever learn? Whilst there is still hope of becoming an imaginary millionaire with fake internet money, then I will probably remain a glutton for punishment. Fortunately I am low on cash flow due to business start up and well, life bills so I won't be throwing too much money around.

MY 1.jpg

Reflections on my 5th year

Hive has been a great break from reality where I get to meet a broad range of people from all different backgrounds just meshing together, reminds me of an old kind of pub where it was just filled with other people.

There's quite a lot of communities that have also sprouted over the past 5 years and continued growth on the network which is a good thing as it has come a long way in the past few years. It wasn't long ago that you could open up the Hive front end and feeds would be filled with the same people mainly, Hive witnesses.

Now days there are a heap of new users blogging their hearts away, engaging with other users and contributing to a growing ecosystem of ever growing dApps and projects.

MY 2.jpg

Hive Gaming

Out of all the crazes on Hive my favorite has to be recent movement in blockchain gaming being developed on Hive which is an exciting development and has the potential to bring in a whole new wave of users and Hive fanatics.

From the early days of Splinterlands to now a broad range of games and even a first person shooter Psyberx is preparing to launch on Hive just to name a few. If I had one tip for people on hive it is "watch this space" in relation to gaming.

MY 3.jpg

Happy Just being here

I know I am not the wealthiest of Hive users nor have I been on of the more successful ones but it doesn't at all bother me all that much as I have learned so much from everyone here, I have also developed my own writing and blogging skills and can now write in different tones, methods and context. Something I couldn't do before.

During COVID it gave me an outlet to remain connected to the outside world and see how other people were doing, despite the battles of words amongst everyone on a range of different topics, Hive isn't much different to the real world in where friends fight over things but at the end of it, they still say G'day and help each other out.

Anyway, Happy Hive Birthday to me! Might go eat some virtual cake.

Image sources provided supplemented by Canva Pro subscription. This is not financial advice and readers are advised to undertake their own research or seek professional financial services.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now