On Inheriting Old Systems

As is the vineyard, so is the organization.

Old, drying up, chances lower, making it through another season...not guaranteed.

I'll be making a parallel between the perhaps virtual organization that I might indeed be or might not be responsible for the existence of...and the physical vineyard, a fraction of which is in the photo, that was my grandfather's (the vineyard) and my great grandfather's before that. And I am now deciding on help live, let die, or replace with something new entirely... In the first case, it's not my call exactly. Not all the way. Only the help live or let die part.

In the second case, I can also replace the vineyard with something new and more productive or more beneficial to me in some other way.

Why not hurry and make a move?

I like to observe, first. Some vital force coming out of the whole thing, trying to just be, to grow, and reach its potential. Which is capped by the old in a way...but not a concrete way, either. In a way that's natural, outdoors, sky-is-the limit way.

Those new in the situation but with the power to change things...are often eager to change things. I know I am. But I try to apply self-control and calculation. And some stubbornness.


Rant Of The Young.jpg


What benefits in sticking to the old systems?

Learning how they work.

Testing strategies.

Failing before trying the new stuff. That is good and important for growth.

Learning how you work.

Can I cope with this size of a vineyard alone? What should I do and when as a bare minimum? What do I get and how much do I value it? How much do others value it?

I don't drink wine, in general. I can't make wine.

Learning to cut off, to gt rid off the sick and decaying.

So easy in the garden, but people are not quite like sticks. Otherwise, the vineyard is cool if only for the biomass that it produces when it starts to grow in earnest.

Ah, but the time it takes...

Then again, learning to hire somebody so that you gain time...that seems to be the ultimate goal.

That's it — learning when you can hire others. Finding a balance in that would be hard but also...necessary.


Learning to live scale.


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center