Bills With Intrinsic Value? | Fiddy Goldbacks!

Gold To Zero, Really?

20210318 08_31_10Pomp 🌪 on Twitter_ _There is a higher likelihood that gold goes to 0 than Bitc.png

Don't get me wrong, I love Bitcoin, but few people disagree with the chance that a black swan event could kill Bitcoin and reduce its value to zero. Is there a similar event that could render gold completely worthless? I doubt it, even abundant metals like iron are not worthless. Let's be reasonable here. In any case Russia and China until recently had been huge purchasers of gold, and the Polish central bank plans to add 100 tons to its coffers (source), so I doubt we'll see Bitcoin completely overtake gold as a store of value in our lifetimes. At least not from a nation-state perspective.

cotton.gif


Fiddy Goldbacks

And now on to the star attraction. I picked up these 50 Goldback notes to round out my collection from both Utah and Nevada. They are 1/20th of an ounce of gold each, and of course feel much heftier than the smaller notes.

50 goldback.jpeg
The bills scanned on my flatbed scanner

IMG_20210317_195124.jpg
Normal photograph including glare.


New Hampshire

I just discovered that the New Hampshire edition is now available on APMEX, so it looks like I'll be picking that set up next! It might be a little while before I pick them up though, so I can wait for gold to get a bit closer to zero!

:-)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center