I Definitely Live in my Own Bubble on Hive

I read @dalz's report on front-ends earlier today and there were a few things interesting about it.

One of them was that, among the top three front-ends on Hive, Ecency performed the best this year regarding the evolution of the number of posts published. The other side of the coin is Hive.Blog, which performed the worse.

Then, I loved to see the Leofinance community unshaken during this bear market, and that the posting activity remained constant throughout the year and not going down with the dollar value of HIVE, like in most other cases.

But there's something else. There is an interface with considerable posting activity on Hive that I haven't heard of before (over 5k posts in December already).

image.png

As you can see in the image above, its name is somee. Looks like dalz doesn't know it either after the answer to my question.

I went through an almost entire process of researching what this app was about: website (without joining), twitter, and finally Hive. If I had done things in reverse, it would have saved me some time.

Whoever is behind this app, is around since the very early days of the former blockchain (2016).

The account for the app is quite old too (since December 2018).

I know it is said the number associated with our accounts that says reputation doesn't hold much relevance, but something like this

image.png

says it was either involved in a whales' war or it got downvoted for abusing the reward pool huge time. Feel free to correct me if the reason was different.

I may be wrong, but I haven't seen this app this high on the posting activity before.

I didn't like the requirements for personal details the moment I saw them. Even less when you have something like Keychain you can easily integrate into all Hive-related apps. It is obvious they want your full name and email, which is something I avoid sharing on apps I know little about (and generally, online, as much as possible).

I could have given some bogus details just to test out the app, but why bother? If I dislike something right from the start, it's a good indicator I won't like it when I go deeper. Even if others do! After all, there are so many people still using Web 2.0 social media, while I only still have a Twitter account, which I rarely use.

Unless someone knows something I don't know, I'd be cautious in these cases. Other people may be tempted, like me, to see what is that app they never heard of that shows up in the tops.

With enough RCs and a little bit of knowledge, one can publish enough posts to make it to the top even with a non-existent app. Not saying this is the case or that it would be a point to this. Just that it is possible.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center