HIVE Power Up Day in the Context of Recent Pushes to Keep More of Your Rewards

We have a decentralized blockchain, even though, at times, people are wondering if it's really like that. But different people, including whales, focus on different aspects of the blockchain and its ecosystem. And they see good or bad things where they focus on. Which means other people might focus on those areas or see things the other way around.

For a good while enough people have been complaining that we are hemorrhaging funds through the DHF. It's likely this discussion, while probably very true in some cases, didn't make people at the receiving end very happy. Then the Splinterlands DHF proposal came to make things even more complicated.

So, I imagine discussions have been carried out, because we've seen some effects:

  • the drop in APR for HBD in savings to 15%
  • appeals to stop converting HBD to HIVE at the bottom (and swap them using the internal market instead)
  • and now, authors and the use of their rewards started to be analyzed (and advised to keep more as HP)

Personally, I agree with all of them, in context. But the context is hard to define.


Source

For example, in the long term, increasing my HIVE Power is my first priority on HIVE. My actions in the short to medium term may not reflect that, or it may seem way too slow (including to myself), because that's the path I have chosen.

I have two small accounts where I have made temporary investments on Hive-Engine this year, starting from HIVE. As of two weeks ago (couldn't update last week due to being sick), my virtual ROI in HIVE on the two accounts is 69.13% and 30.04%, respectively, so better than curation and HBD interest combined. Both of them will return to HIVE and, at some point, probably going through HBD, to HP.

I assume we might have similar cases and other types of situations with others that are hard to catch statistically.

I have my staking account at @gadrian-sp currently, which I grow very slowly because I temporarily want to push some HP to my posting account. My staking account(s), and yes, I plan for multiple ones, is what I call my long term HP holdings. I won't say I'll never power them down, because I learned that using absolute words doesn't leave room for alternatives, but it is one of the actions I'd be thinking about last, to power my staking accounts down. I am here to stay.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
26 Comments