Hive, Firewood and Back Pains. Any Connection Between Them?

This post is going to be a little different than my usual lately.

I like to stay informed on the things that I am focused on, and when I start missing a few days (or even fractions of days, as it was the case now), when I get back to full swing things tend to be overwhelming when realizing how much I've missed.

So, what happened?

As it's often the case... Life happens.

My father is an old fashion guy. He prefers heating with firewood, even though there is another functional heating option with gas, that requires no work and is less dirty.

But... as long as he can, he seems determined to keep using wood for heating during winter.

I think the argument that they are from his own forest (legally), is what keeps him clinging to that option.

On the costs side, while heating with gas a big house is not cheap, when adding up all the costs of intermediaries and hired workmen from the forest to the house in town, the difference is not that high. And there's the work and dirt involved when working with wood, which you won't have on gas. They add up too.

Normally, he takes care of (almost) everything related to heating on firewood. But, being an old man and with a big shipment of firewood that came last weekend, I couldn't let him do the work all by himself.

One full day and two partial week days later we finished them. Now, due to health issues, I was generally spared throughout my life of heavy lifting. Maybe that's a reason why after this work I turned into... @achim03. :)


Source

For those who don't get the reference, Achim had some pretty serious back issues recently. While I don't think my back issues are are serious as his were, it still hurts every time I move.

So... today I started to check the backlog of things I missed while I was focused elsewhere. And it's quite lengthy, even after going through many of them.

I still discovered I haven't replied to some conversations that were promising or in some cases I replied late or missed some comments entirely. Sorry about that!

I still haven't caught up with everything, and with my back pain still present, I have to rest more often. Luckily, I think I'll recover much sooner than Achim has, the pain seems more manageable today than yesterday. It seems nothing more than muscle soreness for my back muscles that I used much more intensely than usually.

I wish I had before and after photos with the yard full of firewood and the small space they take when stacked up. Anyway, being a town boy myself, I will always choose the most convenient option after considering all elements, which in this case is gas.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center