CBDC is here!

         Remember this group called the Digital Currency Monetary Authority (DCMA)? I vaguely remember it from all the podcasts I listen to. They have been working quietly in the background to bring you the dreaded CBDC.

         https://finance.yahoo.com/news/digital-currency-monetary-authority-dcma-132700400.html

         One might have expected publications such as Financial Times or Wall Street Journal to cover this subject. Alas, I only saw it on Yahoo and other less-known outlets. After reading that article, I decided to check out their website.

         https://dcma.io/
         https://unicoinnetwork.com/home

         It felt as if I was checking out the page of some shitcoin. They even had a LinkedIn and Twitter page on there. Out of curiosity, I checked them out.

         It would appear that they've been around since 2018. It shouldn't be a surprise. Something as big as an international monetary system requires time to set up. Is this like the Bank of International Settlement (BIS) 2.0? You know, the part where it's supernational and technically not under anyone's jurisdiction?


         Darrell's name showed up in the Yahoo article. His background info made me think he is a brilliant and talented person...that works for shady organizations. Someone could have given him a better profile picture. The other "member" on LinkedIn was a profile I could not access or see. I wonder what are they hiding.

         The third-degree connection doesn't mean much. It may seem unsettling, but I have several friends working in the banking industry. Even Sam Bankman-Fried appears to be a third-degree connection to my profile. Utah already hosts NSA's data centers, so having more shady persons with questionable networks living in the state no longer surprises me.

         I went over to their Twitter page. The DCMA has not been active since last summer. It further reinforced the idea that they were working quietly in the background. I suspect this is the space to watch in the future.


         I am convinced CBDC is a surveillance tool disguised as a convenient technology. With the gradual phase-out of cash, a legal tender, the powers that be want to herd everyone into a space where privacy doesn't matter. I don't know if it's something we can fight. Perhaps the masses can reject it and use existing systems, decentralized or otherwise. If we can't opt out, is it possible for us to mitigate CBDC's effects with decentralized options?

         However, CBDC won't save the failing currencies around the world. Humans haven't evolved beyond the need for tangible assets and commodities, and I believe many cryptos fall under the latter. It's time to ditch the fake derivatives and IOUs.

         I won't make too many suppositions, so please draw your conclusions.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center