Ongoing Challenges in My Workplace

Retalliation & Harassment Resulting in Job Cancellations


In a recent update on my ongoing journey with workplace challenges, I find myself facing new issues that add to the existing complexities. Last month, I worked for Freeman AV(Oct 11-19), and to date, I have not received my rightful payment. Despite a clear weekly pay schedule and contract, the funds from the cash wage bond that should cover my wages have not been released. Despite reaching out to the union for assistance, my requests have been ignored, leaving me in a difficult financial situation.

Adding to the turmoil, I am now experiencing harassment at work. I was booked for three separate shows at a union facility Caesars Palace, scheduled to work from the 6th of November through 16th. However, I was given three dark days thus far, which were not applicable to the rest of the crew. Upon arriving to sign into the second show today, the technical director, Zach, informed me that I had been canceled. According to him, the union hall stated to Encore representative Kevin G. that I cannot be dispatched as a technical director, instructing me to contact the business agent.

Despite my persistent efforts to reach out to business agents through phone calls, online IATSE webpage reports, and social media, I have received no replies. This sudden cancellation, coupled with a lack of communication, has further jeopardized my income and job stability.

This situation is unfortunately not new for me. I've faced similar instances of being cut from work and losing income due to what I believe to be disability discrimination. While I lack concrete evidence, my lowered earnings compared to others in similar roles raise concerns about fair treatment in the workplace.

As I navigate these challenges, I remain committed to seeking resolution and justice. I will continue to update on developments in this ongoing struggle for fair treatment, payment, and a workplace free from discrimination.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center