Light At The End Of The Tunnel

source

Yesterday I decided to phone the insurance company in the UK to follow up on my policy payment that is due. The last I had heard from them was when they tried to create another delay asking for an updated change of address. This I found utterly bonkers because I had to verify my address with utility bills having them co signed by our accountant. If their system has not been updated it is not my fault.

Silence is never good when you do not trust the other party having heard nothing since the phone call om the 6th May. They stated 10-15 days to process the payment so it is over due. The lady yesterday mentioned working days when I queried the time line plus she also said there was a public holiday. Even still that puts the 15 days at next week Tuesday and not next Friday which she mentioned as the payment date.

What made me chuckle was when she said it is 10 -15 days to process so it could happen before Friday. What are the chances of that happening I don't know if you consider the delay tactics up to his point. I have had to courier documents 5 x so say 4 because one was my fault, but still 4 x and each time meant a delay of 3 weeks.

The documents would take a week to reflect on their system and the processing team would take another 15 days to let you know they needed more documents that were not originally specified. This will be nearly a 6th month battle to be paid money that is rightfully yours.

I will be checking my bank account daily next week as seeing is believing and kind of deep down know it may not even reflect because it is the banks turn to hold this up for 3-5 days. A worse case scenario is being paid on or around the 5th June.

I can recall all that time ago when I sold my property in the UK and decided to keep the policy going. This apparently is not normal because most just relinquish the policy or are offered a token amount instead. If you had already paid a few years in why not just keep it was my thinking and now am glad I did. It was a policy that covered the home loan so we are talking about a sizeable number. This will be reinvested hopefully in another property in Europe and is not for spending.

The plan is to do the family trip within the next month with the trip having dates changing continuously with the hold up now being the British visas for 4 out of the 7 travelling. I refused to pay the 500 GBP each for the express VIP system and will wait the 15 day process. This sets the flight dates at either the 7th or 14th June and suppose the 14th is the realistic date now. Crazy to think all of this was started in the first week of January and would have taken a full 6 months to complete.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center