Zooming #POSH Out

The proof of share campaign on twitter is been around for some time now, and although I was sharing posts on twitter even before all of this became a thing, #posh actually convinced me to share all of my posts on twitter, and even follow some of the fellow steemians on twitter as well as on Steem. Let's say that I've become a stronger Steem promoter and a more engaging steemian outside the nest.

Users that are part of this #proofofshare advertising campaign are not quite doing it for free. Not that they ask anything in return, or that anyone made any promises, but you know @ocd, sometimes it shares some love to posts that get to twitter and are proper tagged. The thing with tagging has changed a bit, and now @acidyo wants to automate a bit the curating process as well, and make things easier, by creating a bot to do the job.

I am not gonna simply dissect his post, which I encourage you to read, and make a kindergarten summary on it, but I will extract the main idea and share my honest opinions, as seen from a slightly different angle. The idea is that the above mentioned bot will have the job to track posts shared on twitter, analyze the engagement they triggered on twitter, take likes and probably retweets as well into account, and based on these numbers curate the posts and their users.

bee-2984342_1280.jpg
image source

Not a bad idea, but one that might be susceptible to vote milking from "clever users" and other tricks that most of us are familiar with, after years of being part of Steem. @lordbutterfly reacted quite fast to the above linked post that I am referring to and find a possible way to trick the bot. Here's his comment:

Awesome! Off to make a bunch of twitter accounts, vote my tweets and farm some ocdb votes...
See how this would be an issue? Hehe.

Now this bot that could be used to curate #poshed posts, based on predetermined criteria, is just a proposal and it's open for suggestions, but I'm trying to zoom out a bit on it and see the proof of share from a different perspective, let's say my perspective, which can only bring more subjectivity to it, rather than guarantee any stable improvement.

Considering that upvotes will be given mostly based on quantity, that being likes, retweets, comments, number of followers and so on, it means that some will create multiple accounts as @lordbutterfly brought up in his comment, and start sharing and collecting... the juicy pollen. I don't believe that anyone is unfamiliar with spam on Steem, thus considering that having an artificial crowd to generate numbers on twitter, and the time to produce content on Steem(not necessarily the best one), this otherwise great idea might become another way for lazy steemians to milk the Steem cow even more by not doing much for Steem, and not putting too much efforts in their post either.

The goal of advertising Steem on twitter, in my opinion, is to make as many people out there familiar with the platform, but to share our best fliers in this campaign is vital, and for that to happen I believe that we should encourage as many good content creators as possible, to keep on creating, and to of course share their work on twitter. This way whoever gets in touch with Steem through twitter will have a proper business card given. Hence I consider that doing curation manually is still the safest option... for now.

A happy and motivated good content creator will have all the reasons in the world to keep on going, to spread the word about Steem on twitter and try his best to on-board as many new users as possible. I know how good I feel when I see my posts curated by @ocdb, and not only. I know that Steem is no longer just a bloggers paradise and that what once was considered spam, is now accepted, but still... I'm more for manual curation rather than using bots.

However, I am not aware of the insights of being a curator for such a campaign, and the efforts implied to manually go through so many posts and #poshes, but still, I can't hold back from sharing my opinion. You know me, I'm an organic fanatic and want the best for this platform and for myself. Now, even if this bot will come to life after all, I hope it's gonna be a good and clever one, and it will curate the best of the best, because I consider that this campaign should not be halted, but we should at the same time show the world the best that we have.

I highly encourage you to read the Evolving the #posh initiative [help needed] by @acidyo, if you managed to read my post to the end, and share your opinions regarding the topic. Any opinion counts and collecting the best ones can result in best possible outcomes.

Thanks for attention,
Adrian

Posted via Steemleo

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments