AI Generated Publications Should Be Considered Fraud on Hive. Here's Why...

What is fraud?

Well, according to google(actually multiple search results by google) fraud is defined as:

In law, fraud is intentional deception to secure unfair or unlawful gain, or to deprive a victim of a legal right. Fraud can violate civil law or criminal law, or it may cause no loss of money, property, or legal right but still be an element of another civil or criminal wrong.

Yesterday, @belemo had this post tackling the topic of AI-generated content on Hive. The post's title says Should AI-generated publications be considered fraud on Hive? And...

My short answer to his musing was yes, AI-generated publications on Hive are fraud and in this brief post today I will state my case on why I believe such AI-generated Hive content should be considered fraud and why it should be discouraged on Hive.

photo_20230402_111417.jpg

First and foremost I don't consider ChatGPT a "total waste for humanity". I use it once in a while as well and to me it is a good alternative to google, but searching for information for your posts by using such services is one thing, and having the damn machine write whole publications for you is a fraud.

In the very beginning of the definition of fraud that I shared in the introduction of this post, it says that "intentional deception to secure unfair or unlawful gain" is considered fraud by law and now I want to point out how that applies to Hive.

Hive is a community-based social media platform having a "rewards pool" as a reservoir for the total amount of rewards that are distributed daily to both content creators and curators(a complex process I will not tackle now). Often times content creators are curators as well and the process of curating posts on Hive is realized mostly on a plain and simple principle: affinity.

If one has at least a grain of affinity for some user or a piece of content that he(the curator) stumbles upon on the platform he will upvote(curate) such content, and when certain individuals start using ChatGPT for creating articles that they will then post on Hive it is when we start dealing with an act of deceiving.

These articles do not belong to them. These writings do not even belong to the machine that wrote them. That piece of work is a product of an algorithm putting together pieces of information picked up from a giant database that the machine has access to. It does not belong to a sole entity.

Hence, when an individual presents himself with a blog post(or whatever) on Hive as if it was his creation, where supposedly the users of such a social media society, as I like to call it, are creating the content they're sharing on this blockchain themselves, then we can say we're dealing with fraud, as that piece of content does not belong to that user who actually posted it.

Some curators could be deceived into believing that user X(the fraudster) is the actual author of the content they are curating, but in reality, he is not. The ones being fooled by them are going to share with such fake content creators a share of the rewards pool anyway until they realize they're actually supporting fraud.... @belemo mentions that there are services in existence that one can use and check if a piece of content is A.I. generated or not.

In our case, I will say that the community will easily expose these fraudsters. Here is a simple example of how that can happen: if I would for example decide to create such content, even though for a while I might fool some of you with such a strategy of earning HIVE, at some point, I will get caught because the ones who follow me for some years already know my writing style, they know I am not a native English speaker and they are also familiar with my personality.

ChatGPT can't replicate that... ChatGPT is not acesontop and acesontop can't pretent to be someone else. At least not after five+ freaking years of blogging on this platform.

There will be new accounts that will try and trick the system this way, and probably, as Belemo mentioned, @hivewatchers and @spaminator will be able to track these down, but at the end of the day is in the hands of the community to not encourage such behavior and help keep Hive as organic as possible.

Personally, if Hive will ever become an A.I. playground, I'm out... I am not against using AI but I believe we should have clear use cases for it and Hive-dedicated content should not be on that list. What do you think?

Thanks for your attention,
Adrian

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center