How I Changed Profession Because of Twitter | Como eu mudei de profissão por causa do Twitter [EN/PT-BR]

English Version

I discovered Twitter in 2007, a year after it was launched, I became enthusiastic about the tool from the beginning and started using the network to inform myself and make contacts.

3W72119s5BjWMGm4Xa2MvD5AT2bJsSA8F9WeC71v1s1fKfGkK9mMKuc3LcvF4KigbWg9UsrpEPFvqpDFCNQ8YhBJLfMpd1FHBnQKtYAjrGPw8DW7E4kfcS.jpg
Photo: Cover of the March 14, 2009 edition of Época magazine (Reproduction)

Right away, I saw an absurd reach potential with profiles that allowed anyone to follow their publications. However, with whom I talked, no one saw it the way I did.

I even set up meetings at the advertising agencies where I lived to try to convince them that they should pay attention to what was happening and that that social network model would change communication forever, but I was unsuccessful.

That's when I decided to travel to São Paulo, a city where even the craziest ideas are heard, and I found more people who thought like me. I talked to those who were already working with social media and they encouraged me to move forward.

I scheduled another meeting with an artistic producer that I already had contact with and I presented the proposal. With a social network like Twitter, we would be able to reach a much larger audience than what was achieved with advertising in newspapers, magazines and radio.

In a few months, I left my job at the city hall of the city where I lived and set up my own agency to work with social media. After the first few years, I had more than half a dozen simultaneous contracts and completely changed careers.

Thanks so much for reading and until next time!


Português (Brasil)

Eu descobri o Twitter em 2007, um ano depois do lançamento, me tornei um entusiasta da ferramenta desde o começo e passei a utilizar a rede para me informar e para fazer contatos.

3W72119s5BjWMGm4Xa2MvD5AT2bJsSA8F9WeC71v1s1fKfGkK9mMKuc3LcvF4KigbWg9UsrpEPFvqpDFCNQ8YhBJLfMpd1FHBnQKtYAjrGPw8DW7E4kfcS.jpg
Foto: Capa da edição de 14 de março de 2009 da revista Época (Reprodução)

Logo de cara, enxerguei um potencial de alcance absurdo com os perfis que permitiam que qualquer pessoa seguisse as suas publicações. No entanto, com quem eu conversava ninguém enxergava da mesma forma que eu.

Cheguei a marcar reuniões nas agências de publicidade onde eu morava para tentar convencê-los de que deveriam prestar a atenção no que estava acontecendo e que aquele modelo de rede social mudaria a comunicação para sempre, mas não obtive sucesso.

Foi quando eu decidi viajar até São Paulo, cidade onde até as ideias mais malucas são ouvidas, e encontrei mais gente que pensava como eu. Conversei com quem já estava trabalhando com mídia social e me incentivaram a seguir em frente.

Marquei mais uma reunião com uma produtora artística que eu já tinha contato e apresentei a proposta. Com uma rede social como o Twitter, conseguiríamos atingir um público muito maior do que se alcançava com publicidade em jornal, revista e rádio.

Em poucos meses, deixei o meu trabalho na prefeitura da cidade onde eu morava e montei a minha própria agência para trabalhar com mídia social. Passados os primeiros anos, cheguei a ter mais de meia dúzia de contratos simultâneos e mudei completamente de carreira.

Muito obrigado pela leitura e até a próxima!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments