Katla review - a new Netflix original series (I didn't like it)

Katla is a brand new Netflix original series. It was produced in Iceland and it was directed by Baltasar Kormakur, a guy that I learned about through watching other Icelandic productions and some Hollywood productions. I have recently watched several TV series and shows from Iceland, including Trapped and The Valhalla Murders, and that is why I decided to give Katla a chance as well. It could have been great, but somehow, I felt like it ended with a tragedy and it gave me a feeling that I have wasted 8x45 minutes of my life.

katla2.jpg

What is Katla all about (minor spoilers)?

This is a really strange story. The volcano Katla is erupting and spreading ashes on the city of Vik. As a result, most people leave the city, but a few people remain behind, meaning that there is a hotel active in the city, there is a hospital, some farmers, and a police officer.

It all starts to get interesting when a person suddenly shows up, soaked up in ashes, and freezing cold. Nobody has a clue about the identity of the person, but when the person starts to speak, she speaks Swedish and claims to be Gunhild. When we then realize that there is another Gunhild as well, twenty years older, but they have the exact same memories, it starts to get interesting.

With time, other people also show up in a similar way, and that is the foundation of the story.

katla.jpg

What makes this stupid...

If someone shows up knowing so much, looking completely similar... it would be a world story. But, in the city/village of Vik, nobody seems to care, nobody is calling the press... and the local police officer is just annoyingly stupid. There are so many annoying aspects to the story.

And then comes the plus... big time spoiler, don't read if you want to watch it...
Just like I hated Behind Her Eyes for suddenly going "supernatural", I disliked it that there was no logical reason (according to my sense of logic) to what happened, and it annoyed me.

But, it might be interesting to some, but to be honest, I almost regret watching this. There are so many movies and TV series I would have watched instead, especially considering how the story came to an end!

Have you seen it? I would love to hear your thoughts! Are you as critical as me, or did you actually like it? I am really curious to hear from you!

Do you want to read more Netflix-related news? Follow me here on Hive, and make sure to visit https://netflix.fromabroad.org/ as well!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center