A Quiet Place review - it felt like a disaster!

I have read a lot about A Quiet Place and I have also seen the trailer and had it on my to-watch list for a long time. Then as I met some friends a few weeks ago, some of them told me that they had seen A Quiet Place 2 in the cinema and that it was absolutely worth watching. As a result, I decided to step up and finally watch the first movie, followed by the second movie.

I just discovered it a few days after I had watched both movies, that they can actually be streamed for free on Paramount+ in the USA (if you have a subscription costing $6 per month), but I only discovered that after paying to rent the movie in the Google Play Store, so I kind of wasted $10 in renting fees... but that shouldn't mean the end of the world (luckily).

a quiet place.jpg

So, I had read about A Quiet Place, and I even got my wife interested, so we decided to watch the movie(s) together.

A Quiet Place - what is it about?

The movie takes us directly into a store. It is all quiet, and a family is picking products off the shelves, without making any sounds. A little boy tries to take a little plane from the shelf, but by accident, it falls down. Luckily, the big sister picks it up before it hits the ground. The father gets angry and takes the plane and the batteries. They leave it all in the store and decides to walk away. The big sister gives the plane to the boy later (in secret), and the boy takes the batteries (in secret). As they walk home, the boy puts the batteries in the plane, it makes a noise - and everyone suddenly understands that this will cause trouble. A big, wild alien/animal jumps out of the forest and kills the boy.

That is what the movie is about, a world in which everyone makes noises is devoured by some special alien-animal.

john.jpg

What can they do about this? They have to keep quiet. But, is there a way to actually fight these alien-animals?

This is just lacking logic

The movie is quiet... Some might find this special and interesting, but it was almost boring to me. It is also annoying that they expect us to understand the finger language, because I didn't, and it felt like I was missing quite a lot of the conversations because of that.

But, the logical errors are the ones that really annoyed me in this movie. First of all...

  • If you get attacked whenever you make a noise, how do the aliens know the difference between a noise made by wind and any other noise? Why do the animals only attack animals a few times as they make noises, but not always?
  • When the boy is killed by an alien in the start, the alien seems satisfied and leaves (even though the father is only a few meters away). Later in the movie, the aliens keep attacking and never leave the area, even though they have already captured the one who made the noise. This is annoying!

These are just some of the annoying things taking place in the movie. And to be honest, these and the other logical errors were so annoying to me that I felt like falling asleep or getting a high blood pressure attack while watching it. My wife almost fell asleep!

What about the second movie? I will write more about it in another article!

I like John Krasinski, but that doesn't help!

The thing is, I like John Krasinski. I love him in the role of Jack Ryan in the Amazon original series, and I have also enjoyed him in many of his other roles. He is the director of this movie, and there are for sure beauties to it all... but still, this just became a mess and boring to me. I'd much rather watch a season of Jack Ryan than to watch A Quiet Place 1&2 once again.

Have you seen A Quiet Place? How did you like the movie(s)? I would love to hear your thoughts!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now