Mr. Robot Review | 2015 | 4 Seasons | Netflix

Mr Robot header.pngSource

When a movie title contains the word Robot, I usually skip it

This goes for a lot of other words like science fiction, alien, etc. I just usually don't fancy these movies (exceptions are there) and that means I'm defo not up for a 4 season TV show like this one. Because yes, there are 4 seasons of MR Robot. The first season was aired in 2015.

Last week, just before Christmas, my boyfriend was looking for something to watch on Netflix. When he clicked on MR Robot, he even said I already saw all seasons I guess, but I think it was good so unless you have something better, let's try watching it. Fair enough, I didn't have anything else, so let's just play it and see if we like it. I often get distracted by my phone if I don't like it or start writing instead. But for some reason, I kept watching.

robot text divider.png

I admit, it took me a few episodes before I got sucked into the story

I will try to refrain from adding spoilers so you will just have to find out for yourself what the Mr Robot in the title is about. I can tell you a bit more about Elliot, he's quite the hacker. The story actually shows you that he's one of these hackers that wants to attack the 'bad guys' and is not interested in stealing the funds from innocent people that do no harm. Although he uses his hacking skills to hack everyone he meets, to learn more about them and I guess also to find out if they are up to anything bad and can be trusted or not.

I think it makes sense that if you have these top-notch hacking skills, that you use them that way. I'm not saying that I approve of it, but I can imagine that plenty of hackers do this and use it for their own knowledge only.

Here's what you find on Wikipedia if you google Mr Robot:

Mr. Robot is an American drama thriller television series created by Sam Esmail for USA Network. It stars Rami Malek as Elliot Alderson, a cybersecurity engineer and hacker with social anxiety disorder and clinical depression. Elliot is recruited by an insurrectionary anarchist known as "Mr. Robot", played by Christian Slater, to join a group of hacktivists called "fsociety".[8] The group aims to destroy all debt records by encrypting the financial data of E Corp, the largest conglomerate in the world.Source

I thought I should look this up as I now know how much there is shared online so that I can also refrain from sharing spoilers.

I personally like the storyline, although I hadn't read it before I started watching it. If I'd read it before, I'd probably watched the show sooner than I did now.

robot text divider.png

Elliot is quite a strange guy

Because of his appearance, I was assuming for a few episodes that he wasn't human but a robot. LOL. The title only added to my suspicion. Elliot has eyes that are about to pop out of his head and his bone structure makes him look even freakier. Add to that his odd way of communication and being socially awkward in general, and you have quite the strange main character. But as I kept watching a few episodes, Elliot started to grow on me and I started to get curious about where this story was about. On top of that, I seriously needed a show that had a few more seasons than the usual only 1 lately, which ends so quickly and makes you crave more episodes.

robot text divider.png

There's a reason that Elliot became a bit weird

He didn't have a normal childhood and still had some serious issues to process while being an adult. The question is what these issues are and how much they are affecting his daily life. You will have to watch the show yourself if you want to find answers to those questions. Let's say that nothing turned out what it seemed at the beginning, and while being dragged into several situations that he never chose to be in, some endings I really didn't see coming. I was totally dragged into the show, and even had a few short nights as I couldn't stop watching it.

robot text divider.png

Some may feel that Elliot isn't as good-hearted as he pretends to be

That he doesn't really hack for the greater cause of saving mankind, but maybe he can't control some actions as he's being dragged into situations that trigger him to respond in a certain way. There are people that truly want to help him get better, as his psychiatrist, although she gets dragged into a situation that has quite an impact on several people. There are a few episodes that made me sit on the edge of my chair because I could not predict what was going to happen, and when I thought I saw something coming, things ended nothing as I expected.

robot text divider.png

Conclusion

I can't remember the last TV show I've seen with 4 seasons that I've binged in such a short amount of time. I got totally dragged into this one and I didn't want to stop watching as I needed to know the secrets that had to come to the surface. Although there were some predictable scenes, when the seasons progressed, things were getting better and less predictable. At least, that's how I experienced it.

If you have ignored MR Robot for some reason, as I did, maybe you should give it a try and see if you start to like it after a few shows. This one is definitely not one that I regret watching. I just had to give it a chance. PS Sorry for staying a bit vague in my review, I didn't want to spoil anything and it turned out to be a bit hard to share things without actually sharing things. :-)

If you have seen it, let me know in a comment what you thought of it!

robot text divider.png

Let's Connect

If you want to connect, you can give me a follow on my socials. For inquiries, you can send me a direct message on Discord.

My Referral Links:

Hive Stock Image Contributions

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center