GANGS OF LAGOS -A True Depiction

Image Source - africanews @LawalHardcore

I tell you, holidays are the best. I am enjoying another double holiday in quick succession thanks to the Christians and the Muslims. The holiday also allowed me to catch up with my list of movies to see. I recently got a 32' inch TV so I am even more enthused to see these movies. I know for sure that whatever comes from Prime Video is always a classic and this one did not disappoint. This movie is actually the first African Original piece for Prime Video
.

ABOUT

The movie revolves around the life of three friends, Obalola, Gift, and Ifeanyi; played by Tobi Bakare, Adesua Etomi and Chike, who live in the slums of Lagos Nigeria, popularly known as Isale Eko. With their different dreams and aspirations, the three grew up in the unfriendly atmosphere of the city and soon became gang members, and ultimately pawns in the game of politics for the big dawgs. The story goes beyond just that, as it presses on key matters and issues that plague the Nigerian Democratic system.

THE BAD

I have always been a fan of crime-thriller movies. It is usually a portrayal of true life stories, and I enjoy stories, especially ones of history. I don't think I have seen a true crime movie depicting the situation of things in this part of the world, but this one had much to offer. I wasn't impressed with the excessive show of blood and gore. Obviously, the blood was fake and noticeably so. Some Nigerian minister was talking about it being a bad portrayal of our heritage The first scene which had masquerades in it. It is a sacred thing for some people in this part of the world, so maybe they could have found another way to depict that scene but, it's a movie and most times it doesn't always play as we want.

THE GOOD

I can be certain there is much good compared to bad. First, the acting was really good. Top actors were selected for leading roles, which was a very wise choice. The young actors were surprisingly brilliant. The cinematography was absolutely impeccable. As a visual artist, it gladdened me a lot. The soundtrack was wonderful too. One of the actors sang an original piece for the movie and it has been my favorite song since then after finding it on Youtube music. The actor is also a popular Nigerian singer, one of my favorites; amazing isn't it? And finally, the storyline was spot on. I went through it all, laughter, joy, pain, relief, etc. An emotional rollercoaster. What really tops it all, and makes this an instant fan favorite is that it is a true portrayal of the current state of things in Nigeria. Politicians use young people for their gains, bloodshed, violence, and whatnot; which is a real eye-opener for viewers.

STREAM OR SKIP?

I'd definitely recommend you stream it. It has it all. Great acting, a wonderful storyline, appealing cinematography, realistic graphics, and a true reflection of a decayed society. I was glued to my TV screen all through. I am rating it a solid 4.8 out of 5. Great piece.

Thank you for reading my film review-ish. I thoroughly enjoyed the movie. If you haven't Id recommend you see it, and if you have, come to the comments and let's talk. What do you think of it? Till next time. Cheers

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency