Daredevil

Image Credit

I can't believe I finally got around to watching Daredevil 1x01. Really really strong start, and I'm already so invested into this world and the character of Matt himself, who by far is the thing I'm loving the most about the show already. He's just so cool and smart and, as well as being hot, man does Charlie Cox play him so well. His American accent is literally FLAWLESS. This show has such a grounded tone, with the hand-to-hand combat being incredible. I was thinking about this and I don't actually think there is a more grounded vigilante? I mean we have like Batman and stuff or the Green Arrow, but they all use tech or other accessories like a bow and arrow. This is JUST his fists. What other hero does that? It also balances dark scenes and jump scares so well with light humour too. I also just love his heightened senses with the scenes where he listens to people's heart beat, and that scene at the end where he is watching over all of Hell's Kitchen, listening in. Wow. I also love the side characters in Foggy and Karen. Matt and Karen have SO much chemistry already. "My grandma said to only give this recipe to my future husband" ayo foreshadowing? If I was to criticise the ep I'd probably say a lot of the legal/business language used was difficult to follow, given I, obviously, am not a really good lawyer, and some of the underground scenes with the gangs and I didn't really care for, but Matt significantly makes up for this. Overall a really great episode. 8/10.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center