We Don't See It This Good Anymore: The Gentlemen Film Review

If I had known what I was missing in The Gentlemen series, I probably would have watched and enjoyed it sooner. What I found the most interesting were the intricate uniqueness of the characters, the coherence of each part of the film, and the adequate comic elements that livened it all.

IMG_20240707_234029.jpg

Netflix had been recommending the film to me for a long time, but I just never felt interested, especially when I gave Netflix's preview a try. I just thought it was going to be some slow-paced film about some political or social hierarchy. I was wrong after all, as I became eager to know if and when there would be a sequel.

What mostly made me want to watch the series was Theo James playing the lead character. His performance in the Digervent series was outstanding, and so I was interested to see if he held that up - after a decade.

When aristocratic Eddie inherits the family estate, he discovers that it's home to a huge weed empire, and its proprietors aren't going anywhere. IMDb


There are usually certain points in films, especially in series, where you may feel like the momentum isn't as great as it was before, and perhaps it could pick itself back up again. It was different in The Gentlemen. I couldn't think of any part of the film being even a tad bit off-beat. It was mostly consistent, and I enjoyed every bit of it. Credit to the story writer.

Something I quickly observed in the film was how uniquely interesting each of the characters was. They were all very different from themselves, but there was this peculiarity in them that the addition of them all and the interactions between them further made me enjoy the film.

I couldn't even fault any of the acting performances in any way because, to me, they all put in good efforts to give life to their characters. My favourite was Theo, though, playing Eddie, the lead character.

"Action comedy" is how this film was themed. I had never really enjoyed this type of style before, but this film made me realise that it was actually doable in a way that it truly would be enjoyable.

Now the comedy was more than "obvious." It was properly crafted and embedded in the dialogue and demeanour of some characters. How all that was fused with the action in the film is yet another discussion. Unlike the cliche you'd see in some other action films, what we find in this film is realistic and entertaining.

Everything started with the attempt to solve a problem. In trying to do that, more problems arose, and they had to be sorted out as well. And on and on, we keep finding our main characters going deeper into their situations, and it all flowed so coherently that I became engrossed in the film at some point.

With films that start really well, how they end gradually becomes a concern. How The Gentlemen ended gave me yet another reason to appreciate the film even more. Brilliant and proper - that's how I would like to describe how the eight-part series ended.

There was some level of gore in the film, though. If you are not comfortable seeing blood, then you should know that there's quite a lot of that in the film. But that is pretty much it. You don't see where exactly the blood could be coming from or get the actual sight of the "damage," and I think that makes the film a lot more convenient to watch.

I could watch The Gentlemen a second time and still enjoy many parts of the film. I rarely ever do that - watch films over and over again - but that's how good this series was to me.

I give it a 9/10.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now