The crow - Is making a deal with the devil worth it? (movie review)

What do you do when you come across a movie that combines all your favourite genres-dark romance, fantasy and horror? You download it immediately and then look forward to getting to watch it at every free time you have.

It should be about a year since I last watched a movie. I've only been watching series. But sadly, I think I'm having a series slump currently so I'll be resorting to watching movies for the now.
I scrolled through my movie browser cause I actually had this excess data and decided to splurge it on a movie, lol. I scrolled through for a long while, searching for the perfect movie. One that I wouldn't end up dropping halfway. One that I would watch and I wouldn't even have realized it was a movie I was watching, because I was so engrossed. I scrolled and scrolled till I came across the movie titled The Crow.

Source

I am not a film person so I don't think I'm a good judge when it comes to choosing movies but I decided to trust my intuition here. After searching for a while, I came across the movie titled The Crow. I wasn't so attracted to the movie at first but when I saw what genre it was, I knew there was no way I was going to let this one go.

I love horror movies. I devour dark romance novels. I have a thing for fantasy novels and shows. This movie was of all the genres I mentioned above and more.

The Crow is a 1hr 50mins movie starring actors Bill Skarsgård (Eric), Fka Twigs (Shelly), and Danny Huston(Mr. Roeg).

It tells the love story of a guy named Eric and a lady named Shelly. When Mr. Roeg, a man from Shelly's dark past is out to kill Shelly and her friends because of a video one of her friends happened to film during their stay with him, Shelly after hearing of the death of one of her friends, shows the police an evidence of her drug dealings so she can be in rehab where she thinks will be safer for here. In rehab, she meets Eric and their love starts to blossom. When Mr. Roeg's assistant comes to Shelly in prison, as a lawyer, she escapes with Eric's help. They both run away from the center and continue their love till Mr. Roeg catches up with them and kills them. Although he kills Shelly, Eric develops the power to escape death. He is reincarnated. He dedicates his second life to killing and destroying Mr. Roeg.

This movie is a straight to the point movie. The character's actions were easy to follow and I loved that. I loved the cinematography, I loved the chemistry between Eric and Shelly and I love how Bill Skarsgård was so invested in his role. Being the main character in this movie, he did a very good job with his role.

I'm afraid, I was really excited to watch this movie and love it but there wasn't really much to love about it. Hence, this negative review.

I said I got into this movie because horror was part of it's theme but it didn't come off to me as horror. Was it dark fantasy? Yes. But dark fantasy isn't horror. There were no jumpscares, no creepy feels. Just grotesque killings and many many gory scenes. There wasn't even suspense. How do you claim it's a horror movie without suspense?

If there's something I hate to experience the most in movies, it is when all of the characters are portrayed as having back stories that influenced their current actions in the movie but we, the viewers are not let in on those back stories. Are we meant to create the back stories ourselves and fit it in or what? Literally all the characters lives weren't explained. What did Mr. Roeg plan to gain in making a deal with the devil? What did Shelly's mom plan to gain in exchange for her daughter? There was an opening scene where someone was trying to save his horse after it was pierced by an iron. I think that was Eric cause he was the only character that fit. But what happened there? What connection did it have to the movie? I'm afraid there were too many loose ends that when the film ended I was so happy to delete it. My first attempt to watch a movie in a while, gone wrong.

I'll rate this movie a 4/10. It was unsatisfying and I definitely would not recommend it to anyone (even to those I do not like, I won't recommend 😂).

Have you watched this movie? Did you enjoy it? Or did you get frustrated like I did?

Also, I downloaded this movie titled The Deliverance as well. It's a horror movie. If you've watched it and you're reading this, please don't hesitate to tell me if it's a nice movie in the comments.

Thanks for reading.


Unsourced image is a screenshot that was taken by me while watching.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center