Wish (2023) : Recap, Review and Reflection

"When you WISH upon a star
Makes no difference who you are
Anything your heart desires
Will come to you"

This most used Disney lyric of all time is exactly the ESSENCE of Disney's new animated movie "Wish". If you're following the new coming-out movie, you've probably seen the poster of it, right? As a lucky hard-core Disney fan, today I got the chance to watch it first in the press screening and I wanna share it with you, Hiveans and I promise, no spoilers.

S__4849666.jpg

For a big movie like this, there's an event held in Central World, one of the biggest malls in Bangkok. I got to attend to see a little show and a little interview before the screening time. There were so many people there so I decided to view them from above.

LINE_ALBUM_wish_231121_1.jpg

LINE_ALBUM_wish_231121_3.jpg

Here are some pictures from the official facebook page of Walt Disney Studios Thailand to show you how the events looked like. The Thai voice actors for Asha and Magnifico are professional singers. Disney Thailand also had a little show from Disney's Thai voice actors for Raya and Mulan.

LINE_ALBUM_wish_231121_82.jpg

S__2465892.jpg

LINE_ALBUM_wish_231121_81.jpg

LINE_ALBUM_wish_231121_83.jpg


LINE_ALBUM_wish_231121_53.jpg

Me showing off the tickets for the preview.

S__2465799_0.jpg


Luckily today one of my good friends, who is also a Disney fan, joined me and we were very excited to see the movie Wish.

S__2465797_0.jpg


Now, let's start with

🌟 the Recap 🌟

Screenshot 2023-11-21 013902.png


Wish is the story of a hopeful 17-year-old girl, Asha (voiced by Ariana DeBose), born and raised in the city called Rosas, located in the Mediterranean Sea. Rosas is ruled by the sorcerer king named Magnifico (voiced by Chris Pine), who studied and obtained the ability to grant wishes with magic. The people believed in him and gave him their wishes as they turned 18. One day, Asha gets the chance to be interviewed for the most wanted position in Rosas, which is Magnifico's apprentice.

Screenshot 2023-11-21 003446.png

At that time, she learned that wishes have a dark side. Asha then calls on Star, and with her goat Valentino (voiced by Alan Tudyk), they try to investigate about what's really going on. Teaming up with her friends, they try to bring balance and peace back to the kingdom. Will they make it? Will the truth be revealed? I wish to tell you, yet I can't since I promise you that there'll be no spoilers. So, please go watch Wish and find out.

Screenshot 2023-11-21 003428.png


Now it's time for...

🌟 the Review 🌟

Screenshot 2023-11-21 003419.png

What I must say is that any true Disney fans are in for a treat with this movie. It's crafted to celebrate a century of Disney. (At least for me) This movie is serving a genuine Disney experience.

While the plot might seem as predictable as other Disney animations, the real charm of it lies in the numerous/countless hidden Easter eggs all over the animation, that only true Disney fans will be able to point out! I'll say it's a true challenge to prove whether one's a Disney fan or not.

Screenshot 2023-11-21 024837.png

The blending of 3D and 2D animated motion pictures is an interesting change, which I'm up for it. Since I was getting kinda bored with the whole realistic 3d pictures like Frozen(2013) and Encanto(2021). Moreover, the production (of the musical scenes) uses lots of light and sound technic just like in actual Broadways, making it dramatic and very theatrical. I love it!

Screenshot 2023-11-21 024817.png


Speaking of the songs, they may not be as catchy as usual, however the voices of DeBose and Pine do a nice job of carrying the story through the songs. Oh! Side notes to the Thai voice actors – I saw the cast and I believe that they are likely to be just as good, as they are actual singers (also I've been their fans too, so I think they cast them pretty well).

Screenshot 2023-11-21 003253.png

Screenshot 2023-11-21 003302.png


Overall, Wish is a challenge to all Disney fans: Go watch and try to spot Easter eggs as many as possible!. And let me know which one you'll find!

Screenshot 2023-11-21 003627.png


The last thing, I want to share with you guys is...

🌟 the Reflection 🌟

The movie stays true to the classic Disney feeling. It gave me nostalgia feeling and transported me (and, as I believed, lots of other the audiences) back to a time of carefree daydreaming that we loved doing when we were young. Towards the end of the movie, the foreseen scenes still move me emotionally. To be clear here, my tears didn't come from the plot, but from the fulfilling feeling that the classic Disney promises us to "always be hopeful and believe in yourself that you can do anything."

Screenshot 2023-11-21 003438.png

Thank you, Disney, for being the source of power that always brings out my inner hope and values. Regardless of any age, Disney continues to inspire me to be brave, strong, hopeful, and, most importantly somewhat new and various self-discovery. And I guess that's why I've always been a Disney fan.

Screenshot 2023-11-21 003352.png

I really see myself as I'm growing up that adulthood and real-life challenge has a great effect on making us lose "our inner child", which is very heartbreaking for me. Losing the innocence and the carefree feeling of being a kid means losing the best creative part of yourself, which is something I've never wanted to lose. I hope I won't forget this learning and will keep reminding myself to not be dragged into the current of a grown-up world.

I am impressed how this time, Disney managed to make the most abstract things like "Hope" "Believe" and "Self" into tangible things that can be understood through a kid-friendly story.

Screenshot 2023-11-21 003529.png

In summary, I guarantee you'll love this movie if you're a Disney fan. You'll have fun with finding the easter egg and connecting with your childhood again. However, if you're not a big Disney fan, this movie might just be another musical animated with an anticipated plot from the studio, which has a talking mouse as a logo. All jokes aside though, there's no right and wrong about the opinion and if you are with me this far please let me know, I'll be truly over the star.

Screenshot 2023-11-21 024725.png

PS. The event and ticket photos are mine but all the official movie photos are from source 1 and source 2.

Let's stay supportive of the entertainment industry and keep watching great movies, guys

Khob khun kaa,
Nomnomnoodle 🍜


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now